Jump to content
IGNORED

The Cejka Ruling Today on Champions Tour


Hardluckster
 Share

Recommended Posts

How was KVC determined for Cejka’s drop after hitting into the water (I think on 15)?

Jimenez questioned the ruling and I think that he was correct in doing so. 

How did that official determine with KVC that the ball, before going back into the water, bounced inbounds on the green side of the hazard? Nobody saw it and TV footage only showed the golf ball bouncing before returning to the water (not that it ever cleared the line for the penalty area). 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I may have just been helped to find the answer. 
 

Is rule 1.3b the answer? Is the measure now “reasonable judgement” of the player rather than KVC?

 

If so, I think that opens the door for those who would be inclined to bend (I’m being kind) the rules to benefit themselves. 
 

It seemed clear to me that Jimenez didn’t agree with the “reasonable judgement” that Cejka used - and I’m not implying that Cejka cheated - just that Miguel disagreed with the drop. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


11 hours ago, ageshooter said:

What the heck is KVC? I did see that tourney and I did wonder how they came to the conclusion they did.

See the Definition of Known or Virtually Certain

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=definitions

  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


It appears that Hardsluckster has found the correct terms to answer their question.

KVC is used when it is necessary to determine whether a ball is on a specific area of the course or out of bounds.

Reasonable judgement is used when it is known in which area a ball is but it is not sure what is the reference point to be used, that is, the point where that ball last crossed the edge of that area (such as a Penalty Area or GUR).

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...