Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 849 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
Posted
On 8/28/2023 at 2:20 PM, DaveP043 said:

Going back to the "always/never" idea, you can say that your relief area is NEVER two clublengths radius when taking free relief.

It's really late and I'm overly tired, but isn't the area for relief from a TIO one club length, and then you drop in the second club length? Which is dropping more than one club length away from where you achieve relief.

If I'm wrong, screw it, it's late. But I didn't think I'd remember this in the morning. 😉 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
8 hours ago, iacas said:

It's really late and I'm overly tired, but isn't the area for relief from a TIO one club length, and then you drop in the second club length? Which is dropping more than one club length away from where you achieve relief.

If I'm wrong, screw it, it's late. But I didn't think I'd remember this in the morning. 😉 

That's an interesting thing.  Line of sight interference from a TIO is defined as existing when the TIO is within one CL of a direct line between the ball and the hole.  Therefore the Nearest Point of Complete Relief is on that far edge of the 1-CL "corridor", and the Relief Area is one CL from there.  So yes, you DO measure as much as 2 CL, but the relief area is just 1 CL.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 8/30/2023 at 8:01 AM, DaveP043 said:

That's an interesting thing.  Line of sight interference from a TIO is defined as existing when the TIO is within one CL of a direct line between the ball and the hole.  Therefore the Nearest Point of Complete Relief is on that far edge of the 1-CL "corridor", and the Relief Area is one CL from there.  So yes, you DO measure as much as 2 CL, but the relief area is just 1 CL.  

Right - I think on the basis that if you dropped in the first clublength you would not have taken full relief, you're right to say that you only have one clublength for your relief. It just starts further away than you might normally expect.

  • Like 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
17 minutes ago, Ty_Webb said:

Right - I think on the basis that if you dropped in the first clublength you would not have taken full relief, you're right to say that you only have one clublength for your relief. It just starts further away than you might normally expect.

To me these are interesting discussions, because as I've said, the more of these "always/never" things I find, the easier the Rules are to understand and remember.  In the spirit of finding exceptions, I'll ask:

When your ball is embedded, what is the only situation in which you are NOT allowed to substitute a different ball?

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
7 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

When your ball is embedded, what is the only situation in which you are NOT allowed to substitute a different ball?

On the putting green? If your ball is not in the general area, you don't get relief, so technically you aren't allowed to substitute. But on the green, it says "replace the ball" so my guess is that's the exception.

  • Informative 1

  • Moderator
Posted
7 minutes ago, Dick Kusleika said:

On the putting green? If your ball is not in the general area, you don't get relief, so technically you aren't allowed to substitute. But on the green, it says "replace the ball" so my guess is that's the exception.

Exactly!  As you say, Rule 16.3 for Embedded Ball relief specifically says it doesn't apply on the Putting Green, but that you play under Rule 13 for Putting Green.  You may mark and lift THE ball, repair the damage, and replace THE ball.  I was quizzed about this by a much more experienced referee, a retired D-1 golf coach, but his wording was a little different.  I think he asked "When taking relief for an Embedded Ball....", and I argued with that wording.  If you're on the Putting Green, you're not taking relief, you're not operating under Rule 16.

This brings another thing to look for when trying to read and understand the Rules.  The word "the" is used to refer something specific, "a" refers to something else.  The distinction shows up when talking about THE putting Green, THE teeing area, THE ball, THE bunker, and I'm sure many more that I'm leaving out.  

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 849 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛⬛🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.