IGNORED

2I Hybrid vs. 5 Wood

Note: This thread is 6711 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I realize that there are different strokes for different folks and that there is not substitute for trying something out myself, but I wanted to ask you all what you found to be the advantages/disadvantages/differences between a 2 iron hybrid versus a 5 wood. From the looks of things most people don’t seem to use a 5 wood, certainly not when you look in a pro’s bag.

But I ask because as a beginner I have struggled with an 18 degree hybrid but have done better with a similarly lofted 5 wood. That is mainly off the tee. From the fairway I can’t seem to hit a wood at all.

I am bringing this up as I went out today to possibly purchase a new 5 wood and when I was at Dicks the sales associate told me he would exchange a couple of head covers I had gotten a couple of weeks ago for the correct ones. When I went home to fetch the incorrect covers the phone rang, and it was Edwin Watts telling me they now had in stock an 18 degree Nike CPR2 that I had been looking for. So sight unseen I decided to get it, figuring what the hell, I have all the other CPRs and may as well finish off the hybrid ‘set’ (stupid reason, I know, but they look good in the bag).

Then, knowing I had to go back to Dicks to exchange head covers, I said what the hell and snagged a new Taylor Made 3 wood in lieu of a 5 wood (although I like the Taylor Made so much, I am now wondering if the 5 wood would have been better than the Nike 2I / 3I hybrid).

Anywho, enough rambling, what are your all’s experiences?

honestly i like using wood than a hybrid club...i hit better with a wood in the fairway than a hybrid...
Handicap Index: 16.4
Driver: Taylormade Burner 9.5 Degree
Wood: Nike Sasquatch 2 , Honshin Wood
Hybrid: Taylormade Rescue Dual 22 Degree