Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Gopher holes and cracks in the earth...


Note: This thread is 6352 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
On a par three this am, my tee shot came to rest in a gopher hole on an upslope just in front of the green. There was absolutely no way to get a club on the ball. Standard unplayable lie rule with penalty stroke? Or free relief? All three of the guys I was with said free relief.

I'm guessing they were wrong...

What's in my bag:
Cleveland Hibore XLS Monster Driver
TourEdge Exotics 2,3,4 hybrid irons
Tommy Armour 845cs Silverbacks 5-PW
Assorted wedges, Ping Scottsdale Anser


Posted
Free relief, rule 25-1
Abnormal Ground Conditions
An “abnormal ground condition” is any casual water, ground under
repair or hole, cast or runway on the course made by a burrowing
animal, a reptile or a bird.
Burrowing Animal
A “burrowing animal” is an animal (other than a worm, insect or
the like) that makes a hole for habitation or shelter, such as a
rabbit, mole, groundhog, gopher or salamander..

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
To further add to this question, what if your approach shot lands on the green.. but in a divot making it impossible to putt to the hole?
In My Bag

Driver: Sasquatch 460 9.5°
3 Wood: Laser 3 Wood 15°
5 Wood: r7 19° (Stiff)Irons: S58 Irons 4-PW Orange DotWedge: Harmonized 60°Wedge: Z TP 54°Putter: Tiffany 34"Balls: Pro V1 Shoes: Adidas Tour 360 IIThe Meadows Golf Coursewww.themeadowsgc.comAge: 16

Posted
I know if it is the divot your ball made, you mark the ball and fix the divot. I would assume the same holds true if it lands in someone else's divot that was already there. Rule 16 states that you are allowed to fix any ball marks on the green. So if you land in a divot on the green, mark the ball and fix the damaged area. If your mark moves then you can replace it.

I will judge my rounds much more by the quality of my best shots than the acceptability of my worse ones.


Posted
Gopher holes have been covered.

Cracks in the earth are a different story. I'm pretty sure you would have to play it as it lies (or take an unplayable).

  • Administrator
Posted
but in a divot making it impossible to putt to the hole?

Define "divot" in this case. Or just look up the rule. "The Putting Green" is rule 16.

Source: Rule 16-1 c. Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage The player may repair an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball, whether or not the player's ball lies on the putting green. If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of the repair, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of repairing an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball. Otherwise, Rule 18 applies. Any other damage to the putting green must not be repaired if it might assist the player in his subsequent play of the hole.

So unless you can find a guy to deem your section of the putting green as ground under repair...

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Cracks in the earth are a different story. I'm pretty sure you would have to play it as it lies (or take an unplayable).

Decision 25/12 Cracks in Earth

Q. Are cracks in the earth which occur in hot and dry conditions ground under repair? Do the Rules of Golf provide relief? A. No. However, a player whose ball is in a large crack would be justified in requesting the Committee to declare the crack to be ground under repair, and the Committee would be justified in doing so. You can look things up yourself online http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/books/rules.html

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On a par three this am, my tee shot came to rest in a gopher hole on an upslope just in front of the green. There was absolutely no way to get a club on the ball. Standard unplayable lie rule with penalty stroke? Or free relief? All three of the guys I was with said free relief.

They were right.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Wouldn't that be considered a hole in one?
(Thnk of Robin Williams comedy description about the origins of golf....)
I'll be more serious in future posts, but this one just fit too well to pass on.

C-S3 driver 12*
RPM LP 5 wood
IDEA A2 3H, 4H, 5-PW, GW, SW, LW
blade putter


Note: This thread is 6352 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 446 - 2025-12-20 Woke up early and got some swings in before teaching putting all day. Looking forward to doing the same tomorrow.
    • It's miles better, though.
    • Went up to Erie for a lesson. I still need to work on how I shift my weight into my right leg and turn into the right leg. I extend it too much and externally rotate it too much. That all causes me to over rotate the hips and cause weight shift issues in the downswing. I need to feel like my right leg gains flex (it doesn’t), and my knee cap faces forward. The right hip sinks back and right. I need a need a ton more internal rotation. I still have some right elbow issues in the backswing. The path is better, but too much right elbow bend. I need to maintain width in the right elbow and let my right shoulder retract more, let’s say at A3, which helps keep that right arm extended.
    • Day 130 12-20 Today was just swinging what i had and go from there. Did focus on getting to lead side. Recorded swings for lesson  and hit real balls. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.