IGNORED

Ball question: ProV too good for me?

Note: This thread is 5712 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've really been struggling the last few weeks. It may be just coincidence but I traced the trouble back chronologically to the time that I started playing Pro V1 balls. A few weeks ago I found refurbished Pro Vs in like new condition for sale at Play It Again Sports for $17.99 a dozen. I bought all they had (5 dozen). Most of them are Pro V1 with a few Pro V1x balls mixed in. Anyway, my theory is that the Pro V may actually be too good for my game. My swing speed is average. Not sure exactly what it is but I'm not a real long ball hitter. A really long drive for me goes 250 total. Maybe I don't generate enough clubhead speed to fully compress a Pro V. Plus, the extra spin tends to exaggerate any swing flaws (slice, for example). Just for giggles and grins I went to Golf Galaxy yesterday and bought a dozen of my trusty NXT Tours, went out to the course and, voila, my game was back to normal. Played 27 holes and shot 45, 45, 46. The scores could have been much lower if it weren't for a few 3 putts after hitting greens in regulation. All in all I struck the ball much better, it went a little farther and straighter than it has in weeks. I played all 27 holes with the same ball. Didn't hit it OB even one time. Hence, my question. Do you guys think there might be anything to my theory or is it just a placebo effect? In other words, maybe I just expected to play better because I had convinced myself I would play better with an NXT Tour than I would with a Pro V1.

In the Bag:
Driver: Cleveland Launcher Ultralight XL 270

FW: Taylor Made 300 17 degree 
3-PW: Mizuno MX-23

AW: Mizuno TP-T11 52/07 (Bent to 50)
SW: Mizuno TP-T11 56/10

LW: Mizuno TP-T11 60/05

Putter: Original Ping Zing