IGNORED

College Golfers?

alexlax12
Note: This thread is 6574 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Being a senior I am looking forward to my last high school golf season. I only started playing for the school last year as a Junior but I managed to find myself as the 2nd seed and will be again this season (the #1 is a scratch player whos been playing on the team for 5 years, and has gone to states twice I believe). Anyway I've been looking into the golf programs at the schools I've gotten into, or waiting to hear from, and I was wondering for those of you out there who have played, or are playing college golf what is it like transitioning from High School??
Northeastern University Golf Team

In Play:
Driver - Titleist 905R 9.5*/Aldila NV 75sFairway Wood - Titleist 904f 14.5*Dynamic Gold S300Hybrid - Cleveland Halo 2Iron(19*)Irons - Titleist 735cm(stainless)/Dynamic Gold S300 (Bent +0.5 degrees upright, +1.0 degrees strong) Wedges - Callaway...

• Administrator

My story shouldn't discourage you...

I played golf three years on my team. I was 6 man, then 2, then 1. I went to states my senior year, was all-county, won the Junior championship for my county (Erie county, PA) that summer, etc.

I showed up to the golf meeting at my college. The coach said "we have two slots available because I lost two seniors this year." There were eight of us in the meeting...

I shot 74 in the tryout, easily the best of the eight people competing for the two spots. I was offered a spot on the team.

I turned him down. My 74 would have beaten all but one of the golfers from last year (and probably even that guy half the time).