IGNORED

Shoulder Turn Help???

Note: This thread is 4004 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey Guys, newbie here. I'm 23 years old.

I have no understanding of how to execute the correct shoulder turn in the backswing. I have had lessons with people who obviously were there to take my money and care less of my improvement so I am a little hesitant on taking another lesson and I'm seeing if you guys can help. OK so here's my problem.

I don't understand the correct feeling of the backswing. I bring my left shoulder under my chin and my swing looks like a baseball swing (way too flat) my club is way around my body. Also my arms don't go back that far and feel tight when I'm halfway back. I'm doing something wrong and I can't figure it out. I'm pretty tall and I don't stand upright at all. I don't know what triggers the backswing. Do I use my right shoulder first? Also when I tilt my spine angel and turn my left shoulder under my chin, the swing looks even flatter. I think I'm turning my body instead of my shoulders but how do I isolate the shoulders? I read magazines and watch old guys get the backswing to the top with ease and I don't know the correct feeling of it. Ca someone explain it to me, I would appreciate it!

Sorry no video of my swing, I will upload it sooner or later.

G2 Driver/3 Wood    MP 52 Irons   52 Deg. Wedge    56 Deg. Spin Milled Wedge

60 Deg. X-Tour Wedge   G5i Tess Putter

www.swingtrainergolf.net

It sounds to me that your clubs have too flat a lie for your physical stature. You sound like you are "sitting down" to keep the club lying properly. A consequence of this is that your takeaway is too flat - similarly if you were to pick the club up to get it to the correct point in your backswing you'll come down too steep.