IGNORED

Hitting Wedges Fat....Lots of Problems? Video inside

Note: This thread is 5389 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

My typical wedge shots are either really good(nice spin, really fat divots, distance, straight) or they go about 3/4 of the intended distance because Im hitting them fat...Its around 30/70 good/bad shot. USUALLY Im not insanely fat but more like scraping the top of the turf, then the ball and then earth. Sometimes it gets outta control tho and really bad. I feel if I can just adjust a few things I could be a good ball striker. Or not, I really havent had a video looked at or lessons... I could be doin everything WRONG. Im fairly new to the game and I DONT want to develop horrible habits early on.

Here is a video of a typical fat shot of mine while I was out practicing:

http://www.swingacademy.com/videoPlayer.aspx?id=3626

Im using a 52 degree wedge and the flag is about 145 yards away(can kinda see it in the video) which is my usual distance for that club if I dont scrap dirt first. I use a neutral to SLIGHTLY strong grip.

Things I think Im doing wrong:
-Seems like I have a major head dip...
-My back heel lifts ALOT during the swing and not smoothly. Didnt realize this until I watched the vid. Ive read to transfer most of your weight to the front leg and this was my result.... good? bad?
-I think I have a swing that starts out flat on the backswing but then gets steeper on the downswing. I dont have much of an issue with slicing them or anything is this really bad?
-I know the head is suppose to be behind the ball(cant see from this angle) and the weight on the front foot...but is it possible my head goes too far behind the ball? Where should it be during impact?

Things I HOPE Im doing right: