Jump to content
IGNORED

What's the ruling?


denver_nuggs_15
 Share

Note: This thread is 4794 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Two similar situations:

1. Guy is juggling his ball with his putter face while on the green. He misses and the ball falls, hits, and rolls on the green. Even though he didn't intentionally test the green, did he? Should he get a 2 shot penalty?

2. Guy throws caddie the ball (accross the green) and it lands short and rolls the remainder of the way to the caddie. Two shots for testing the green?

I couldn't find the rules unfortunately.

In my Ogio Ozone Bag:
TM Superquad 9.5* UST Proforce 77g Stiff
15* Sonartec SS-2.5 (Pershing stiff)
19* TM Burner (stock stiff)
4-U - PING i10 White dot, +1.25 inches, ZZ65 stiff shafts55*/11* Snake Eyes Form Forged (DGS300)60*/12* Snake Eyes Form Forged (DGS300)Ping i10 1/2 MoonTitleist ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites


On USGA.org there's no saying about accidents. I would say it;s no penalty. Just because I'm nice . It's probably a judgment call if he did it on accident or he look like he did it on purpose to test the green.

Pro Titanium 905R w/ UST Proforce V2 7 stiff.
975F Fairway Woods 3/5
Divine Nine wood
DCI 990 Irons 3-PW
Not sure what name of SW mallet putter Pro V1x Ball Bag

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Hmm I'm not sure on that one. I've always wondered about that, and If I put my ball down on the tee box and hit it back and forth with my driver, or play poison with my friend. In real tournament play I might tap it back and forth not realizing im doing it. Is that technically a penalty?

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha Diablo 9º
2 Hybrid: Callaway Big Bertha Heavenwood
Irons: Nike Slingshot OSS 6-3 iron
          Taylormade Tour Preferred PW-7 iron
Wedges: Cleveland CG14 50º, 54º
              Taylormade RAC 58º
Putter: Ping Darby 32" shaft


 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1. Juggling the ball on the face during the play of a hole - I don't want to consider the number of penalty strokes that is.
2. Yes, two strokes. Accidentally bumping your ball while marking it is OK. Accidentally dropping it is OK. Throwing it to your caddy is OK if he catches it. If it lands short and rolls - absolutely a penalty.

If you throw the caddie the ball and he misses it and it lands in the water - you're in the water.

driver: FT-i tlcg 9.5˚ (Matrix Ozik XCONN Stiff)
4 wood: G10 (ProLaunch Red FW stiff)
3 -PW: :Titleist: 695 mb (Rifle flighted 6.0)
wedges:, 52˚, 56˚, 60˚
putter: Studio Select Newport 1.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
I couldn't find the rules unfortunately.

I don't think either is a penalty, but it may also depend on where the caddie is, for example, or where you drop your ball. Though "intent" is never really part of the rules except intent to make a stroke, "accidents" are allowed. You can touch the ground in a hazard, for example, if it's to prevent falling in or something.

1. Juggling the ball on the face during the play of a hole - I don't want to consider the number of penalty strokes that is.

Why would that be a penalty?

If you throw the caddie the ball and he misses it and it lands in the water - you're in the water.

No you're not. You're right where you marked your ball - but you have to recover the original ball, or else it's lost.

That's why Ian Poulter's trainer or someone jumped into the water at Sawgrass to recover the ball he accidentally flung in when picking it up after marking it on the green.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't think either is a penalty, but it may also depend on where the caddie is, for example, or where you drop your ball. Though "intent" is never really part of the rules except intent to make a stroke, "accidents" are allowed. You can touch the ground in a hazard, for example, if it's to prevent falling in or something.

I was gonna ask about the water. What does the ball have to do with the hole once the ball mark is sitting on the green?

If you happy gilmored the ball down the fairway, but your ball was marked on the green you could probably go get the ball and play it from your mark. I guess that guy thinks a mark is useless and means nothing.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I was gonna ask about the water. What does the ball have to do with the hole once the ball mark is sitting on the green?

Point is that one needs to play out the hole with the ball one started the hole unless a rule allows it to be substituted. If caddie throws the ball into water and it is lost there will be a 2 shot penalty for substituting a ball when not permitted (Rule 15-2).

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I was gonna ask about the water. What does the ball have to do with the hole once the ball mark is sitting on the green?

According to

USGA Decision 20-4/2
The ball is not considered to be in play until the player repositions it with the intention of replacing the ball as required by Rule 16-1b. If the player played a stroke with his ball while it was out of play, he would be playing a wrong ball (Rule 15).

there would be no penalty for the caddy toss drop, the putter juggle is more questionably. The "happy gilmore" would definitely result in a penalty as a stroke was made. It would seem that this would also violate Rule 7.2 about no practice strokes during the play of a hole.

If you can't lead 'em with a stick, beat 'em with a carrot!

In the Monza Featherweight:
r7 460 TP
r7 TP Fairway Woods (3 & 5) r7 TP irons (3-aw) RAC Chrome 56° & xFT TP 60° wedges White Hot XG Sabertooth putterBoring, I know, but why stray when you like what you've got?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


there is no penalty for juggling or dropping a ball and it rolling accross the green. Now if you do that near your line of putt, there might be an issue.

As for tossing your ball to a caddy and it landing in the water, if you do not recover it, there is a penalty for not finishing the hole with the same ball, but you replace it with a new one and play on from where the original was marked on the green.

The reason it is not a penalty because you are not actually practicing, just messing around. You are not chipping, or putting. You are just bouncing the ball of the club.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4794 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...