Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules...


Jay-Bird
 Share

Note: This thread is 4753 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

There have been a lot of rules posts lately. For the love of the game, I implore you to go to the USGA website and read the rules . Just browse a few, read some decisions on the rules. You might learn something.

If you think you know the rules, take a RULES QUIZ . Set the level to advanced and get ready to challenge yourself.

Talk about your findings here...

driver: FT-i tlcg 9.5˚ (Matrix Ozik XCONN Stiff)
4 wood: G10 (ProLaunch Red FW stiff)
3 -PW: :Titleist: 695 mb (Rifle flighted 6.0)
wedges:, 52˚, 56˚, 60˚
putter: Studio Select Newport 1.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator

18 of 18 here. I actually have a calendar reminder set and I take these quizzes every other Monday.

And none had any "grey areas."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

18 of 18 here. I actually have a calendar reminder set and I take these quizzes every other Monday.

That's phenomenal. I commend you on your understanding of the Rules of Golf.

I have a question for you, if you will. In your casual rounds with friends, do you all play by the Rules? For exapmle: Say you're all playing for a buck a hole and your buddy lifts his ball to ID without following the proper procedure (maybe he doesn't mark the ball before lifting), do you let it go? do you mention it at all?

driver: FT-i tlcg 9.5˚ (Matrix Ozik XCONN Stiff)
4 wood: G10 (ProLaunch Red FW stiff)
3 -PW: :Titleist: 695 mb (Rifle flighted 6.0)
wedges:, 52˚, 56˚, 60˚
putter: Studio Select Newport 1.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


OK OK I'll agree to disagree on the grey subject. Having said that I did go to the USGA site and look over the rules. Just skimmed them over, but I am going to get a copy to keep in my bag. As I have said this debate is good as it's made me realize I should know the rules better than I do. Hopefully others will do the same. I'm going to take the quiz and see what I don't know.

Driver.... Nickent DX Evolver V2 65 stiff /07 Burner YS6+ stiff .
4 wood..... Nickent 4DX
Hybrids.....Tour Edge Geomax 22* 25* 28*
Irons.....TM R7 6-P + AW,SW,LW
Putter.....Odyssey White Hot XG 2 BallBag.......Callaway ORG 14 A.L.I.C.E. Ball........Bridgestone e6 / Srixon Soft Feel...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I got 14/18. A few of them I had no idea and can't even imagine when and how they would ever come up.

I keep a copy of the rule book in my bag at all times, just in case. They don't cost much at all. Most golf stores have them and even bookstores on college campuses usually have them for golf classes. Great 'reading material' in the bathroom as well.

I will judge my rounds much more by the quality of my best shots than the acceptability of my worse ones.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Well here is the result. Took the same quiz as iacas. 14 out of 18. Did better than I thought, but honestly I used good sense on a couple I wasn't sure of. I definetly need to get a copy and read it cover to cover.

Take the quiz and post your scores fella's www.usga.org/rulesquiz/rules_quizzes.html

Driver.... Nickent DX Evolver V2 65 stiff /07 Burner YS6+ stiff .
4 wood..... Nickent 4DX
Hybrids.....Tour Edge Geomax 22* 25* 28*
Irons.....TM R7 6-P + AW,SW,LW
Putter.....Odyssey White Hot XG 2 BallBag.......Callaway ORG 14 A.L.I.C.E. Ball........Bridgestone e6 / Srixon Soft Feel...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
Well here is the result. Took the same quiz as iacas. 14 out of 18.

The questions change randomly, you know...

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The questions change randomly, you know...

Know I didn't. How often? Thought it would be the same at least a day or so.

Took it again. All new Q's So they change everytime you take a new quiz. 11 out of 18 this time.

Driver.... Nickent DX Evolver V2 65 stiff /07 Burner YS6+ stiff .
4 wood..... Nickent 4DX
Hybrids.....Tour Edge Geomax 22* 25* 28*
Irons.....TM R7 6-P + AW,SW,LW
Putter.....Odyssey White Hot XG 2 BallBag.......Callaway ORG 14 A.L.I.C.E. Ball........Bridgestone e6 / Srixon Soft Feel...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Thing is when an actual event arises in play, a multiple choice questionnaire doesn't float down from above and present you with choices. The real trick to rules is you have to identify when one must be referenced and know how to proceed. This is much harder than situational guessing as a test like this presents.

So, it's important to know the rules well enough if you're to play in organized competition that you can recognize, identify and proceed within the rules when such an event occurs.

It's sort of like a balk in baseball. Given a multiple choice guess test I could tell you every situation that is a balk. But, no way I could identify every balk in the play of a real game.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?
THE WEAPONS CACHE..

Titleist 909 D2 9.5 Degree Driver| Titleist 906f4 13.5 degree 3-Wood | Titleist 909 17 & 21 degree hybrid | Titleist AP2 irons
Titleist Vokey Wedges - 52 & 58 | Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2 Putter | ProV1 Ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?

So long as he isn't using them while he hits I don't think it's a problem at all. I mean, he could just as well walk to where he was looking but of course the binoculars save time.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


wow there were a few rules I have never even heard of. Thanks for the link!

******

Big Bertha Diablo Driver
Big Bertha Diablo 3 Wood
Big Bertha Diablo 5 WoodBig Bertha Diablo BallsX-18 4-SW Irons

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I'd take this quiz with a grain of salt - after all, I learned earlier today that there are no referees in golf, and here the USGA is referring to a "referee" in their quiz.



22. A referee does not have the authority during the play of a match to declare an area as ground under repair if it was not previously marked. Correct You answered False Correct answer False Explanation Decision 34-2/1



Then they have the audacity to include a definition for something that clearly doesn't exist - the USGA is rubbish!!

"Referee
A " referee " is one who is appointed by the Committee to accompany players to decide questions of fact and apply the Rules . He must act on any breach of a Rule that he observes or is reported to him.
A referee should not attend the flagstick , stand at or mark the position of the hole , or lift the ball or mark its position."

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I had an interesting thing come up.. I dont think its in the rules anywhere. An older guy i was paired up with yesterday used binoculars to gauge his shots because he couldnt see very far. My other playing partner thinks this is illegal. I countered with that youre allowed to use a rangefinder, so what is the difference? They're both occular divices, right?

I have thought about doing this. My eyesight far away really sucks. I want to take binoculars to the course so I can get a better idea of trouble around the greens, pin placements, hazards, etc. The rangefinder magnifies, so I doubt that binoculars would be illegal.

I will judge my rounds much more by the quality of my best shots than the acceptability of my worse ones.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 of 18 here. I actually have a calendar reminder set and I take these quizzes every other Monday.

That is crazy. 9 out of 18 and I thought I knew most of them.

I have a rules question. If you are taking a practice stroke and you acidentally hit the ball, does that count as a stroke or do you get to replace it. I remember a ruling on the LPGA where the player tried to stop her swing but couldn't, hit a horrid shot then replayed it. I already know the answer. It is different because the ball isn't in play until teed up but on the green it is in play once the marker is removed. Am I right?

Brian

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
If you are taking a practice stroke and you acidentally hit the ball, does that count as a stroke or do you get to replace it.

These are things you can look up yourself. In fact, Rule 18 is called "Ball at rest moved."

http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14288
I remember a ruling on the LPGA where the player tried to stop her swing but couldn't, hit a horrid shot then replayed it.

That was off the tee.

I already know the answer. It is different because the ball isn't in play until teed up but on the green it is in play once the marker is removed. Am I right?

A ball is not in play when it's teed up. It's in play when a stroke is made at it.

I think 20-3a covers replacing the ball on the putting green. http://www.usga.org/bookrule.aspx?id=14292#20-3

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd take this quiz with a grain of salt - after all, I learned earlier today that there are no referees in golf, and here the USGA is referring to a "referee" in their quiz.

Tournaments actually do have referees once you get to a certain point. Playing in the SF city championship last year, once you get to a certain point they have an official from the NCGA that follows every group, announces the scores and the status of the match and is there to answer any rules questions. Sure, its not your classic referee, but they'll call you on stuff. For instance, he was kind enough to remind me to actually say the word "provisional" after a wayward teeshot, as not declaring it would have been a penalty.

Driver: Taylormade Burner TP (2007 model)
Fairway Wood: Callaway Steelhead III 4+
Hybrid: Sonartec MD 19
Irons: Mizuno MP 33s  4-PW
Wedges: Titleist Vokey Spin Milled wedges: 60, 56, 52Putter: Odyssey DFX 9900

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4753 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...