Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5899 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
is the black tarp that lines sand traps part of the hazard?

Here is the situation. I hit a shot about 3 inches behind a sandtrap. Due to high winds and lots of water, the tarp is exposed and has come out of the trap a bit. I would clearly have to hit the tarp in order to hit my ball on the green.

Should i be entitled to relief here?
Bag: Three Five Yellow
Driver: 905R 9.5 Degree, Fujikawa Shaft Shift
3-Wood: Sumo2 15 degree
Hybrids 19 and 21 degree
Irons tour x-20 (5-PW)Wedges vokey 52.08,56.14, 60.04Putter circa 62 #1: Pro V1Where I usually play: Rush Creek

  • Administrator
Posted
is the black tarp that lines sand traps part of the hazard?

More importantly, your ball wasn't in the sand trap. Why not just push the tarp out of the way?

Beyond that, and off the top of my head, the tarp may be an obstruction:

Source: Rules of Golf Obstructions An "obstruction" is anything artificial , including the artificial surfaces and sides of roads and paths and manufactured ice, except: a. Objects defining out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings; b. Any part of an immovable artificial object that is out of bounds; and c. Any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course. An obstruction is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage. Otherwise, it is an immovable obstruction. Note: The Committee may make a Local Rule declaring a movable obstruction to be an immovable obstruction.

You may be able to call it an obstruction. 150-yard stakes are considered obstructions like this. Again, what's relevant too is that your ball was not in the hazard.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
More importantly, your ball wasn't in the sand trap. Why not just push the tarp out of the way?

are you assuming that the tarp is not part of the hazard? since the tarp is touching the sand doesn't that make it part of the hazard?
Bag: Three Five Yellow
Driver: 905R 9.5 Degree, Fujikawa Shaft Shift
3-Wood: Sumo2 15 degree
Hybrids 19 and 21 degree
Irons tour x-20 (5-PW)Wedges vokey 52.08,56.14, 60.04Putter circa 62 #1: Pro V1Where I usually play: Rush Creek

  • Administrator
Posted
are you assuming that the tarp is not part of the hazard? since the tarp is touching the sand doesn't that make it part of the hazard?

I don't see how that would matter. It's artificial and meets criteria a, b, and c.

You can move a twig in a bunker if your ball's not in the bunker. I don't think I'd consider the lining of a bunker to be part of the bunker. It's artificial, like a sprinkler head (you get relief from those too - though they're rarely in bunkers or water hazards ). Again that's just my initial thought. If I had more time I'd look through the Decisions and things too.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
the lining of the sand trap is an obstruction. It does not matter if you are in the bunker or not, you get a free drop, closest point of relief, no closer to the hole.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee


Posted
the lining of the sand trap is an obstruction. It does not matter if you are in the bunker or not, you get a free drop, closest point of relief, no closer to the hole.

If it is in the bunker, I believe you do get a drop, but it has to still be in the hazard.

Driver R7 Superquad NV 55 shaft or Bridgestone J33 460 NV 75 shaft
3 and 5 Wood X
Hybrid original Fli Hi 21* or FT 22*
Irons AP2
Wedges Vokey 52* - 8 , 56* 14, 60*-7Putter California CoranodoBall TP RedGPS NeoRange Finder- Bushnell Tour V2 When Chuck Norris puts spin on the ball, the ball does not...

Posted
The tarp is an immovable obstruction. If the ball is outside of the margin of the hazard, then you get relief if the tarp interferes with your stance, the lie of the ball, or the area of your intended swing. If the ball lies within the margin of the bunker then you still get relief, but the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker, and the ball must be dropped in the bunker. You may drop outside of the bunker by taking a one stroke penalty. See Rule 24-2b for all relief options.

Just because part of the tarp has been shifted outside of the normal margin of the bunker, that doesn't change the margin of the bunker.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I don't see how that would matter. It's artificial and meets criteria a, b, and c.

+1 on relief.

Forget your opponents; always play against par. ~Sam Snead

Sumo2 5900 9.5, ProForce V2 stiff
Diablo 3w
Baffler TWS 3h MP57 4-pw VR wedge 52.10, 56.14 TPz 60.06 Studio Style Newport 2 SG5ProV1x


Posted

I always think of Tiger Woods back in the beginning of his career in that tournament where he had that big boulder in the way of his ball and some members of the gallery moved it for him. Unreasonable effort....hmmm lol.

What's in my hoofer 2 golf bag:

Driver:: R9 9.5* with Fujikura Rombax 7Z08 shaft in X-stiff
3 wood:: R9 15* with Fujikura Motore F1 65g in X-stiff
2-PW: TA2 with Dynamic Gold X-100Wedges: 588 Gunmetal 53* Gap and 60* LobPutter: Pro Platinum Newport 2 with custom paint and stamp on heal/toeBall:


  • Administrator
Posted
I always think of Tiger Woods back in the beginning of his career in that tournament where he had that big boulder in the way of his ball and some members of the gallery moved it for him. Unreasonable effort....hmmm lol.

A rock isn't man-made (artificial). It was a loose impediment.

Source: Rules of Golf Loose Impediments "Loose impediments" are natural objects including: · stones, leaves, twigs, branches and the like, · dung, and · worms, insects and the like, and the casts and heaps made by them, provided they are not: · fixed or growing, · solidly embedded, or · adhering to the ball. Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere. Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments, at the option of the player. Dew and frost are not loose impediments.

Specifically, Rule 23 covers relief procedures for loose impediments. Tiger knew (and knows) the rules. What can ya say? All players should - they help more often than they hurt.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5899 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.