IGNORED

New golfer: when to buy first clubs?

DSH
Note: This thread is 6475 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, I'm REALLY new to golf, have had a few group lessons and have been hitting and putting at the driving range almost daily for a couple of weeks. I hit the driver straight but only about 100 yards. I am female, mid fifties, fit, but short.

Have been reading around and looking at gear. Have a cart at Gigagolf filled from a 15 degree driver to woods, hybrids, wide sole short irons, but 10 clubs total all with graphite, adjusted for length and lie. (Bought a putter locally). Everything I have read indicates that the maximum game improvement equipment is what I should go for.

Some people say "wait", and others say get a range of clubs now so you can get a feel for playing on a course, not just the driving range.

I am eager to have my own clubs, and I know that impatience is one of the biggest sins in golf, so what to do? Would much appreciate your thoughts.

... Some people say "wait", and others say get a range of clubs now so you can get a feel for playing on a course, not just the driving range. I am eager to have my own clubs, and I know that impatience is one of the biggest sins in golf, so what to do? Would much appreciate your thoughts.

I recently went through it with my wife. She picked up the game 3 years ago - of course her first purchase were golf outfits - in a month she had more "golf" clothes than me