Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5732 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
In tournament play there is a local rule requiring the player to play one brand of ball throughout the round. (you can change brands from one round to the next, but not in the same round) If that rule is not in place, a player can change ball between holes, but is not allowed under the rules to change ball during the play of a hole. So, you can not change from a top-flight to a pro v-1 when you get to the putting green, but you can change from a top-flight that you played on hole 1 to a pro v-1 you want to play on hole 2. If you lose a ball in the water, you have to finish the hole with the brand you started with.. on that hole. And you can not use a separate "putting" ball on a hole. You have to use the exact same ball you started the hole with... unless you lose it. If you change, there is a 1 shot penalty.

My swing thoughts:

- Negative thinking hurts more than negative swinging.
- I let my swing balance me.
- Full extension back and through to the target. - I swing under not around my body. - My club must not twist in my swing. - Keep a soft left knee


  • Administrator
Posted
If you lose a ball in the water, you have to finish the hole with the brand you started with.. on that hole.

Everything else you said was right but that part's wrong.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Everything else you said was right but that part's wrong.

Exactly. To say what's been said a dozen times just one more time:

The ONLY rule that makes any reference to the type of ball in use is the tournament rule limiting you to a single make and model for the round. Other than that rule, the RoG only care about whether the ball is in play or not. If you're entitled to substitute (or to play a provisional), you can use any [conforming] ball you can scrounge up. Make or model don't come up anywhere else.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
My bad... I thought all you guys were a qualifying at the PGA qualifying school rounds (just kidding.) Seriously, rules change over time and that is why you needs to get the latest USGA information and read it. It is free online and I think they still send you a new rule book every year if you are a member. More importantly, get the Decisions on the Rules of Golf supplement. It is an amazing compendium of special cases and rulings. Is a pineapple a removable obstruction in a bunker? Well maybe not in Hawaii, but it is in Utah. Which begs the question, is a Burger King wrapper a natural part of a hazard in Texas (where I live.)

Also, I just checked and the rule about the maximum number of balls in the bag at the start of a round on the PGA tour is no longer in effect. You can pack as many as you want. Must have been a Caddie's union rule in the past.

RC

 


Posted
. More importantly, get the Decisions on the Rules of Golf supplement. It is an amazing compendium of special cases and rulings. Is a pineapple a removable obstruction in a bunker? Well maybe not in Hawaii, but it is in Utah. Which begs the question, is a Burger King wrapper a natural part of a hazard in Texas (where I live.)

I think you need to review the definitions for

loose impediment and obstruction . A pineapple is a loose impediment no matter where you happen to be in the world. It is never an obstruction.... unless it's made of plastic.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Yep, you are right, here is a decision:

23/3 Half-Eaten Pear
Q. A half-eaten pear lies directly in front of a ball in a bunker and there is no pear tree in the vicinity of the bunker. In the circumstances, is the pear an obstruction rather than a loose impediment, in which case the player could remove it without penalty?
A. No. A pear is a natural object. When detached from a tree it is a loose impediment. The fact that a pear has been half-eaten and there is no pear tree in the vicinity does not alter the status of the pear.

I am surprised by this because I sure thought I had read in the past that even an organic impediment could be an obstruction if it was not native to the area -- apparently this is not so. I'll have to be careful next time I'm in a bunker and encounter a foreign object, like a killer whale. I just read a decision that ruled a dead crab could not be removed either, it is an impediment... Thankfully there are decisions about live snakes. We have those where I play.

Thanks for pointing out the error. I need to know such things and surely need to reread the rules and decisions.

RC

 


  • Administrator
Posted
A. No. A pear is a natural object. When detached from a tree it is a loose impediment. The fact that a pear has been half-eaten and there is no pear tree in the vicinity does not alter the status of the pear.

Wait, but what about a half-eaten candied apple?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I like the candy apple one -- plastic and organic. So am I to take it that a gummy bear that is not embedded is an obstruction? I could pick it up but not eat it due to the sandy coating (it is summertime.) One could have fun with this rule. Suppose (God forbid) you are on the clock and have to hurry. A cat in a tree has a heart attack and falls lifeless in the bunker just in front of your ball. Under this reasoning, you would have to hit it. Surely not. (Apologies... totally uncalled for.)

RC

 


  • Administrator
Posted
Under this reasoning, you would have to hit it.

C'mon, like you need a reason to hit a cat... !!!

I'm joking. 99% anyway. Devout dog person...

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Which begs the question, is a Burger King wrapper a natural part of a hazard in Texas (where I live.)

A Burger King wrapper must definitely considered as hazard along with the wrappers former contents. Whether its natural or part of THE hazard, I leave to your discretion. ;)

In the bag:
Driver:  Burner 10.5* Stiff     ||    3 Wood:  Burner 13* Stiff     ||     Hybrids:  Slingshot 17*, 21*, 24* Utility

Irons:  MX-300 5-PW     ||     Gap & Sand Wedge:  Spin-Milled Black Nickel 52.08* / 58.08*

Putter:  VP-09 Blade 33"     ||     Ball:  Penta TP


Posted
Wait, but what about a half-eaten candied apple?

Good question. An ice cube (known in the rules as "manufactured ice") is an obstruction, so I would suspect that any other natural object which has been subjected to human engineering would also be an obstruction, although it may be a matter of the degree of man-made interference with nature.

The candy apple is one I'd have to run by an expert to be certain. Wish I'd known about this question yesterday, as I was in the preseason refresher seminar for on course officials with the CGA, and we have some VERY sharp rules guys on staff.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
Good question.

Fourputt, I already know the answer. Find out for yourself, but I was just having some fun with the half-eaten apple ruling.

Not everything or everyone is super serious all the time.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Fourputt, I already know the answer. Find out for yourself, but I was just having some fun with the half-eaten apple ruling.

But the rules are serious business!!!

I do have the answer, I was just too lazy to look up the reference earlier.
23/1 When Loose Impediment Transformed into Obstruction Loose impediments may be transformed into obstructions through processes of construction or manufacturing. For example, a log (loose impediment) that has been split and had legs attached has been changed by construction into a bench (obstruction); or a piece of wood (loose impediment) becomes an obstruction when manufactured into a charcoal briquette. (Revised)

Your candied apple would be an obstruction, in my humble opinion.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
Your candied apple would be an obstruction, in my humble opinion.

Yes it would... but what if it was made by the forest children? Do indigenous wild people have the capacity to "manufacture" or "construct" under the Rules of Golf?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Yes it would... but what if it was made by the forest children? Do indigenous wild people have the capacity to "manufacture" or "construct" under the Rules of Golf?

The term "manufactured" doesn't discriminate by race, creed, color, or tree of birth. So yes, it doesn't matter if it was made in the Kraft kitchens or even by a semi-mythical forest elf.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
The term "manufactured" doesn't discriminate by race, creed, color, or tree of birth. So yes, it doesn't matter if it was made in the Kraft kitchens or even by a semi-mythical forest elf.

They're not mythical. The guy who always licks his golf balls to clean them says that he sees them every time he plays after the grounds crew sprays that green foamy chemical on the putting greens...

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5732 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Mike Mentzer Was Right: The Science, Logic, and Legacy of Heavy Duty Training - Mike Mentzer Modern science backs Mike Mentzer’s one-set-to-failure training. Discover why Heavy Duty works, and how logic, intensity, and recovery lead to real results. Is this what you mean? If so, I have known bodybuilders to do this and they were very strong.
    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛⬛🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.