Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4095 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Ok, I'll make this short and to the point. I had a debate with my buddy last night and I want to see if I am correct here.

The hole we are discussing is at a local course. Par 3 130 yards and it's an island green. If you rinse one in the water, there is a drop area on the tee side of the hazard (meaning you still have to hit it over the hazard).

So if you hit it from here, you are obviously hitting 3. The course has also created a drop area that is next to the green but totally out of trouble and OVER the hazard and they allow you to just hit 4 from there so you can't possibly hit two in the water if you choose drop area number 2.

I don't think this is within the rules of golf. If you use a designated drop area after hitting in a hazard, aren't you ALWAYS hitting 3 on your second shot???

I realize the course probably does this to speed up play and not have someone hit it in the water over and over from the first drop area but can a local rule make you lie 3 after 1 shot in a hazard??

Posted
Ok, I'll make this short and to the point. I had a debate with my buddy last night and I want to see if I am correct here.

That kind of Local Rule is overriding real Rules of Golf and is contrary to those. Thus it should be changed.


Posted
Ok, I'll make this short and to the point. I had a debate with my buddy last night and I want to see if I am correct here.

If you are following the Rules of Golf exactly as you would in a tournament, there should be only one drop area and not an extra one with an extra stroke penalty. The addition of the green-side drop zone is (as you mentioned) probably put in place for pace-of-play issues and to help the average golfer during casual rounds. If you and your buddy are playing strictly by the Rules as they are written, the "sceond" drop area shouldn't even exist and your next shot should be taken from the point where the ball crossed the hazard, the first drop area, or from the tee box.

Posted
I would agree with MSD there that this second drop area is in all likelihood put in place to help with pace-of-play issues. In which case I am all for it. Lord knows we've all been behind the group who puts 4 in the water and then re-tees and doubles up on their lost balls. Now I must HI-JACK this thread with a par three question of my own.

So I was playing a stroke play tourny yesterday and it was a shorter par 3 around 160 yards. It was raining and a little windy so I wanted to flight the ball low and therefore, did not tee it up. I placed the ball on the deck, and what I'd typically do in this situation is move the ball around with my club until I have it properly primped and propped up. It occurred to me that this may not be legal, so I did it by hand instead. I asked my group, and no one knew the answer.

SO, is it or is it not allowed during a tournament to use your club to adjust the ball while it's on the tee box before you are addressing it and ready to make your swing?

Posted
I would agree with MSD there that this second drop area is in all likelihood put in place to help with pace-of-play issues. In which case I am all for it. Lord knows we've all been behind the group who puts 4 in the water and then re-tees and doubles up on their lost balls. Now I must HI-JACK this thread with a par three question of my own.

I could be wrong, but I don't think the ball is in play on the hole until you take your first stroke. It's much the same as if you were to knock the ball off the tee before taking your swing; yes, you touched the ball with the club face but the ball is not yet in play and you did not have intent to make the stroke. Hopefully someone with a bit more knowledge on this can help out.

Posted
SO, is it or is it not allowed during a tournament to use your club to adjust the ball while it's on the tee box before you are addressing it and ready to make your swing?

It is allowed as the ball is not in play until you have made a stroke at it. So feel free to do that if you wish. Occasionally somebody might challenge you if you first lay your ball down and move it into a better position with your club. Then you address it and step away and decide to change the ball into a new position, with hand or with club. This is also perfectly allowed as the ball is not yet in play.


Posted
Ok, I'll make this short and to the point. I had a debate with my buddy last night and I want to see if I am correct here.

Which drop zone is the rating and slope based off of? That should be the only one used. You'd probably have to asked the course pro.

Kevin

-------
In the Bag
Driver: G15 9.0*3 & 5 Wood: BurnerHybrid: Pro Gold 20*; 23*Irons: MP-58 (5-PW)Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 52*8; 56*14Putter: Newport 2.0 33"Balls: NXT


Posted
If you and your buddy are playing strictly by the Rules as they are written, the "sceond" drop area shouldn't even exist and your next shot should be taken from the point where the ball crossed the hazard, the first drop area, or from the tee box.

I would have to disagree with that to some extent. If there is a Local Rule in place it should be obeyed even though it might be contrary to the Rules of Golf. In a competition the best thing is to ask a member of the Committee to come by and explain the situation and then follow his recommendation. This way you would escape from any Rules violation.

Even it would be very clear that a Local Rule is not based on the Rules of Golf I would be extremely careful not to play by it in a competition. You must remember that other players may already have played according to that Local Rule and in that case the ruling would most likely not be advantageous to you. During a competition Local Rules may not be altered.
Which drop zone is the rating and slope based off of? That should be the only one used. You'd probably have to asked the course pro.

I wonder if course rating has anything to do with drop areas. Also there may be several drop areas for one water hazard, there is nothing to prevent that. What is wrong here is that a player is assigned 2 penalties for hitting his ball in the water instead of 1 that is described in the Rules of Golf. Thus the Local Rule in question is overriding the actual RoG and is not a proper one.


Posted
I would have to disagree with that to some extent. If there is a Local Rule in place it should be obeyed even though it might be contrary to the Rules of Golf. In a competition the best thing is to ask a member of the Committee to come by and explain the situation and then follow his recommendation. This way you would escape from any Rules violation.

So does this local rule override the USGA Rules of Golf? It sounds like there is a little debate in this thread. Under the rules of Golf can you ever lie 3 after hitting the ball in a water hazard if this were an "official" tournament? Can there be two drop areas under the rules of golf? One where you lie 2 and one where you lie 3. I still think the answer is no but I would love more opinions here.


Posted
There certainly can be more then one drop area, but the thing about them is you can't use one that would put you closer to the hole then a normal drop under the rules. The add two strokes to use a certain one is not within the rules.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
So does this local rule override the USGA Rules of Golf? It sounds like there is a little debate in this thread. Under the rules of Golf can you ever lie 3 after hitting the ball in a water hazard if this were an "official" tournament? Can there be two drop areas under the rules of golf? One where you lie 2 and one where you lie 3. I still think the answer is no but I would love more opinions here.

Think it this way: what is the single Rule that gives you 2 penalties for hitting your ball into a water hazard?


Posted
Boooooo - to courses making up their own rules - when they are in blatant disregard of the Rules of Golf.

driver: FT-i tlcg 9.5˚ (Matrix Ozik XCONN Stiff)
4 wood: G10 (ProLaunch Red FW stiff)
3 -PW: :Titleist: 695 mb (Rifle flighted 6.0)
wedges:, 52˚, 56˚, 60˚
putter: Studio Select Newport 1.5


Posted
1992 Rules of Golf as Approved by the USGA and R&A; Golf Club

Rule 26-1
"If a ball lies in, touches, or is lost in a water hazard (whether the ball lies in the water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke :
a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played; or
b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped."

On a par three, you don't have to drop the ball, though. You have the option of re-teeing the ball (I'm not reading this in the rule book, just referencing this video of shots at the 17th at TPC Sawgrass , specifically the Fred Couples "hole in 3.")

Posted
1992 Rules of Golf as Approved by the USGA and R&A; Golf Club

Since 1992 the Rules of Golf have been re-edited four times. Lucky for You 26-1 is not one of those that have changed


Posted
Ok, just so I have some clarity here can I get simple yes or no answers to these questions:

Under the USGA Rules of golf can a course:

1.) Have two separate drop areas on the same hole?

2.) Have a drop area on the other side of the hazard?

3.) Have a single drop area that forces you to be hitting 4 on your next shot after hitting into a water hazard?

Let's say there was a USGA sanctioned event at this course tomorrow, what would have to be done to make this legal. That is, at what point can a local rule not outweigh a USGA rule?

Finally, am I right then in telling my buddy that it is against the rules to take a drop on the other side of the hazard and lie 3 after hitting one shot in the hazard, EVEN IF it is a local rule?

Posted
Ok, just so I have some clarity here can I get simple yes or no answers to these questions:

1. Yes

2. Not for that hazard 3. No Local rules are not allowed to be contrary to the rules of golf. In the back of the rule book are speciment local rules that are allowed. An event being played under the rules of golf would not be using the drop area on the other side of the hazard.

Rob Tyska

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Since 1992 the Rules of Golf have been re-edited four times. Lucky for You 26-1 is not one of those that have changed

Ha. I figured it had changed. It's just the copy of the rules that I always keep in my bag.


Posted
Ha. I figured it had changed. It's just the copy of the rules that I always keep in my bag.

Well, keep on carrying it but don't bet all your money when getting entangled in an argument on the course...


Note: This thread is 4095 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.