Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5653 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Player hits his ball from half way of a slope towards the green that is on top of a hill. He fails to reach the green and his ball starts to roll down the hill towards tight bushes from where playing is impossible. So while his ball is still moving he claims it unplayable, says he will apply stroke & distance and stops the ball before it would disappear in the bush. Then he drops the ball on the spot where he made his previous stroke.

What is the ruling?

Posted
Friendly game? i'd give him his ball so he doenst lose it
I thought that'd be a DQ?
Its a DQ on the green atleast isnt it?

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
A player must not make a stroke while the ball is moving? Could this also be cosidered as hitting himself since he touched the ball before it came to rest? I would not think that he could declare the ball unplayable before it comes to rest.

Dunno. Now I got go out to the car and get my rule book. ( its pouring out)...........lol

Posted
although he should let the ball come to rest, you can always play your ball from the previous spot (under penalty of one stroke) so he would have had the same result.

  • Administrator
Posted
although he should let the ball come to rest, you can always play your ball from the previous spot (under penalty of one stroke) so he would have had the same result.

See rule 1-2. His penalty is at least two strokes, and I would argue it's either 3 (and he replays) or he's DQed.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
last time i golfed a mens night i did it on the green cause i missed a gimme putt, and it was honestly like 2 inches from the hole and it hadnt completley stopped yet
anyways i back handed it in while it was still moving and he said i shoulda been dqed

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
John Daly did that in the 1999 US Open at Pinehurst during the last round... I don't think he was DQ'd, IIRC, he made a 9... so lots of strokes, but not a DQ... of course, the rule could have changed since then.

Cheers, Allan

In my Ping Hoofer II bag: Titleist 975J | Callaway Big Bertha 3 Wood S2H2 | Mizuno Fli-Hi 18˚ Hybrid | Mizuno MP-33 3-PW | Cleveland Tour Action 900 54/60 | Ping Anser II BeCu | Titleist ProV1

My Playground: Northview G&CC


Posted
DOesnt seem to be a specific rule really
Basically, 2 stroke penalty and you hit it again

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
agreed that's why he shouldn't stop it. My point is that in a "friendly game" he was taking the liberty of not waiting for it to come to rest before taking the option I mentioned. I did not mean to imply that this is allowed under the rules of golf.

Posted
DOesnt seem to be a specific rule really

As Erik said, the rule is quite clear:

1-2/5.5 Player Purposely Stops or Deflects Ball; Where Next Stroke Must Be Played From Q. A player's ball lies through the green. After playing a pitch shot up a slope, the player sees his ball start to roll back towards him. He places his club in front of the ball and stops it. The ball would have rolled only a few yards more and remained through the green. What is the ruling? A. Since the player purposely stopped the ball, he is in breach of Rule 1-2. As the breach was not serious, he would lose the hole in match play or incur a two-stroke penalty in stroke play. In stroke play, he must play the ball from the point where he stopped it with his club. If the player had purposely deflected the ball but not stopped it, in match play, he would lose the hole. In stroke play, if a serious breach has not occurred, he would incur a two-stroke penalty and must then play the ball from its new position. In stroke play, if a serious breach has occurred, the player is disqualified.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
As Erik said, the rule is quite clear:

Agree, so I think it'd be a 2-stroke penalty for stopping it, then stroke and distance since he doesn't play it from where he stopped it (i.e., 3 strokes as Erik stated). If he plays it that way, it'd seem to me unlikely that it was a significant advantage, so no DQ.

That said, that's a rule that I'd have no qualms about overlooking in a friendly match, since as long as he plays stroke and distance, there is literally no impact on anything and it just serves to slow things down.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5653 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.