Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5644 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Last night during my round, I was teeing off with 5W. For this I always use a broken tee as I don't tee the ball up very high. I tee the ball...address it, takeaway..then on the downswing the tee topples over and the ball falls to the ground. I'd say I got about halfway on the downswing...but no further. If this would have been an at-bat in baseball I'd definitely have "checked" my swing. I re-teed and played a good ball. Was this a penalty?

Posted
I don't think it is. You didn't "commit" to the stroke.

That's what I think anyway, I could be wrong

My Clubs
Driver - LV4 10* R flex
Wood - sam snead persimmon 2 wood (for windy days)
Hybrid burner tour launch 20* stiff flex.
Irons - Tour Mode 3i,4i stiffIrons - FP's 5-PW R-flexWedge - spin milled 54.14Wedge - spin milled 60.07Putter - Victoria Lowest round 2010: 79 (par 70)Latest rounds at...


Posted
i always thought that if it moves once you address the ball its a stroke

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
I thought that was only while putting? I thought if you didn't make an attempt to hit the ball, your not penalized. Either way, if it was just a casual round, no way I'd take a penalty for that. In a league or tournament, I would ask some sort of official...

Cleveland Launcher DST 10.5*

Ping G15 17*

Mizuno MP-53 4-PW with GS-95

Mizuno MPT-11 Black Nickel 52* and 58* with GS-95

Ping Redwood Anser


Posted
Yeah maybe not then
I asked someone at the last mens night if i was allowed to stop my swing if it didnt feel right
Sometimes my shoulder clicks and moves me out of position he said it was fine

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
I do not believe that is a penalty stroke. But I really need to brush on my rule of golf sometime soon. Too many of these posts regarding rules situations and I do not know for sure if i am correct on them.
In the Bag:

Driver: FT 9 Tour 10*
3-Wood: Big Bertha Diablo 15*
Irons: MP-68 3-PW Project X 6.5Wedges: JAWS 52*, 56*, 60*Putter: White Ice #9Ball: ProV1x

Posted
You had no intention of making the stroke once you abandoned the swing. On the teeing area, if a ball falls off a tee before you make a swing, you replace it with no penalty. You played the hole correctly.

See Rule 11-3:

11-3. Ball Falling off Tee
If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

CY

Career Bests
- 18 Holes - 72 (+1) - Par 71 - Pine Island Country Club - 6/25/2022
- 9 Holes - 36 (E) - Par 36 - Pine Island Country Club - 6/25/2022

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
does a downswing an stop count as a stroke at it?

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
does a downswing an stop count as a stroke at it?

No. Tiger does it all the time. It's harder to do than you may think... but, if you stop your swing... there was no intent to strike the ball.

From the USGA Rules website: Stroke A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke. CY

Career Bests
- 18 Holes - 72 (+1) - Par 71 - Pine Island Country Club - 6/25/2022
- 9 Holes - 36 (E) - Par 36 - Pine Island Country Club - 6/25/2022

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
what about for putting?

My Clubs:
Ping I3 + blade 3-pw
9.5 09 Burner with prolaunch red
Nickent 4dx driver
Taylormade Z tp 52, 56, 60
YES Carolyne putter


Posted
Putting is different because the ball is IN play. Rule 11-3 only applies when the ball is NOT in play.

That is why when you tee it up and you accidentally knock the ball of the tee (e.g., when addressing it), it does NOT count. I know a lot of people joke and say "that's one". But actually it is NOT. You can re-tee w/o any penalty or stroke being counted.

Don

:titleist: 910 D2, 8.5˚, Adila RIP 60 S-Flex
:titleist: 980F 15˚
:yonex: EZone Blades (3-PW) Dynamic Gold S-200
:vokey:   Vokey wedges, 52˚; 56˚; and 60˚
:scotty_cameron:  2014 Scotty Cameron Select Newport 2

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Then waht about a ball in the fairway or on a puff of rough. Knowing you didn't touch the rough and it rolls. I thought the rules on that case were you put it back were it was previously, but i am not sure if you addressed the ball.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
someone will correct me if I'm wrong but I think that if you address the ball and its deemed that you caused the ball to move by pushing down some blades of grass the ball was sitting on or you accidentally "tapped it" or anything else, its a stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Posted
someone will correct me if I'm wrong but I think that if you address the ball and its deemed that you caused the ball to move by pushing down some blades of grass the ball was sitting on or you accidentally "tapped it" or anything else, its a stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

I know one of these days my complete lazyiness about looking up the rules is going to make me look stupid, but the above sounds correct. However on the tee box when the tee is in the ground and the ball upon it, unless you intend to make a stroke, there is no penalty even if you nudge the ball off the tee at address with the club face or pull out of your swing.


Posted

The key point is 'in play'.

On the tee, the ball is not yet in play until you intentionally move it through a forward stroke (even if the ball goes sideways )

Once in play, you're pretty much screwed if the ball moves while you're addressing it or do anything that might have influenced the movement (e.g., clearing away debris, etc.).


Posted
someone will correct me if I'm wrong but I think that if you address the ball and its deemed that you caused the ball to move by pushing down some blades of grass the ball was sitting on or you accidentally "tapped it" or anything else, its a stroke penalty and the ball must be replaced.

Once you've addressed the ball (i.e., taken your stance and grounded your club, unless in a bunker where it's merely taking your stance with no grounding necessary), if it moves, you caused it by rule. It doesn't matter where, whether it be fairway, rough, bunker, green etc. The situation in the OP is different because the ball is not yet in play. Until it's had a stroke played on it, it's not in play, so none of the penalties for moving it apply.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
Once you've addressed the ball (i.e., taken your stance and grounded your club, unless in a bunker where it's merely taking your stance with no grounding necessary), if it moves, you caused it by rule. It doesn't matter where, whether it be fairway, rough, bunker, green etc. The situation in the OP is different because the ball is not yet in play. Until it's had a stroke played on it, it's not in play, so none of the penalties for moving it apply.

right and I wasn't addressing the OP but the guy who asked about what happens if the ball is in the fairway or the rough. You get a 1 stroke penalty if the ball moves after you address it or if you are considered to have made the ball moved by removing an impediment.

My philosophy on golf "We're not doing rocket science, here."


Note: This thread is 5644 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,638 3/6 🟨⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • It may not have been block practice, though, is one of the main points here. You may have been serving and from the same place, but you were likely trying to do slightly different things. It seems that would only be blocked practice if you were trying to hit the same exact ball hit to you to the same exact place in the far court. I'm not sure that's as random as if the ball that you're given to hit is at different places, too, but again…
    • I played tennis in college. I thought block practice was great for serves because you were starting the point and  you could easily adjust where you wanted to place the ball based off the same motion. I equate those to tee balls. I despised block practice for groundstrokes once you reached a certain level and your fundamentals were good. To me, hitting a 100 crosscourt backhands in a row was silly because I would never do that in a match. I needed to randomize it by hitting some deep, some angled, all with different speeds and spins. I share that same thought about iron play. Because we seldom hit the same approach shots hole after hole, I prefer to practice irons randomly. 
    • Wordle 1,638 2/6* 🟨⬛🟨🟨🟨 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 1,638 3/6* ⬛🟦⬛⬛⬛ 🟦⬛⬛🟦🟦 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.