Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Casting a Shadow over the Line of a Putt


Note: This thread is 4062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

In a match last week my partner was putting from about 12 feet. It was late afternoon and the breeze made the shadows of tree limbs move along the line of his putt. Instinctively, I moved a bit to put my shadow in a position where it made a solid shade and obliterated the dancing shadow of the tree.

Our opponent stopped him before he could putt and said that I was creating an unfair advantage and had to move my shadow. I moved rather than argue. But, I've always thought controlling shadows on the green was just a courtesy.

Bury me with a golf glove in my pocket - just in case!


  • Administrator
Posted
Originally Posted by Baynative

In a match last week my partner was putting from about 12 feet. It was late afternoon and the breeze made the shadows of tree limbs move along the line of his putt. Instinctively, I moved a bit to put my shadow in a position where it made a solid shade and obliterated the dancing shadow of the tree.

Our opponent stopped him before he could putt and said that I was creating an unfair advantage and had to move my shadow. I moved rather than argue. But, I've always thought controlling shadows on the green was just a courtesy.

Unless you were indicating the line of his putt in some way (and even that is a stretch), or were on the line of his putt or a reasonable extension of it, I think you were okay.

2014 update: I was wrong right at the time, but am wrong in 2014. Skip to post #11 below for the start. My newer post #19. Read the follow-up at #20 as well.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I agree with Iacas on this. If you didn't bother your friend by standing where you were and you didn't help in some way his alignment, then you were not breaking any golf rule that I'm aware of.

Golf is not a game, it's a way of life!

Driver...Cubic Balance offset
Fairway wood......Flying Saucer
3-Wood....Cleveland LauncherIrons.......Callaway Great Big Bertha w/graphite shaftswedges....Cleveland sand wedge, Callaway Lob wedge putter....Claveland VAS.


Posted
I agree with Erik, Did He make the putt?

R7 9.5 S Shaft
560 R7 quad R shaft
RAC LT irons
Scotty Cameron Pro Platinum


Posted
I agree with Erik, Did He make the putt?

No, he missed the putt. But, we enjoyed the big prize at the end - a FAT TIRE BEER!

Bury me with a golf glove in my pocket - just in case!


Posted
You might want to ask the USGA about that one. It sounds like altering the conditions in a way that assists a player.

They have been real good about getting back to me with answers to tricky rules questions.

Posted

indeed, unless you indicate line of putt - it's not a rules violation, it's only a ettiquete question.
There was a discussion once at LPGA tournament. Player's ball was hanging on the lip of the hole and player walked up and by casting a shadow on the grass under the ball "made" the ball drop ( supossely grass reacts to shadow within 10 seconds ).

From "Decisions on Rules" :
16-2/3 Casting Shadow on Ball Overhanging Hole
Q. A player’s ball came to rest overhanging the edge of the hole. The player walked up to the hole and cast his shadow on the ball, believing that this would cause the grass to wilt and his ball to fall into the hole. Was the player in breach of Rule 1-2 (Exerting Influence on Ball) when he cast his shadow on the ball?
A. No.

If this is not breach of rule - your shadow on the putting line of your partner isn't one either

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
indeed, unless you indicate line of putt - it's not a rules violation, it's only a ettiquete question.

The issue in this thread is a totally different circumstance than the one cited above. You cannot hold an umbrella over a player to keep the sun or rain off him while he is making a stroke. It is possible that intentionally casting a shadow to alter the conditions of the course while a player is

making a stroke is also a breech of the rules.

  • Administrator
Posted
The issue in this thread is a totally different circumstance than the one cited above. You cannot hold an umbrella over a player to keep the sun or rain off him while he is making a stroke. It is possible that intentionally casting a shadow to alter the conditions of the course while a player is

I think saying that a shadow "alters the condition of the course" is going too far. I agree he should contact the USGA, but as I said, I think they'll say he's fine so long as he's not actually assisting.

After all, who is to say whether standing there was accidental or not? I agree with Rafi in that it's likely simply a question of etiquette. The "course" isn't altered - the way the sunlight hits the course is, but that's really stretching things, IMHO.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
It would be my opinion that casting a shadow to eliminate distractions would be much like using an unbrella over the player or the line of the putt. I have written the USGA for an opinion.

Posted
No rules violation unless you are lining up his putt with your shadow. 100%

The opponent needs to relax a bit!

Divot Dave
Posted
The opponent needs to relax a bit!

This was no casual game.

Hey, We're talkin' FAT TIRE BEER !

Bury me with a golf glove in my pocket - just in case!


  • 8 years later...
Posted

I can't believe I'm jumping in this thread 8 years later, but I don't see how this isn't a violation of 14.2. Look at Decision 14-2/0.5:

Q.What are considered "elements" under Rule 14-2a?

A.Elements include sunlight , rain, wind, snow and other weather conditions.

-Greg


Posted

I can't believe I'm jumping in this thread 8 years later, but I don't see how this isn't a violation of 14.2. Look at Decision 14-2/0.5:

Q.What are considered "elements" under Rule 14-2a?

A.Elements include sunlight, rain, wind, snow and other weather conditions.

-Greg

I suspect you're right.

Imagine a situation where you're hitting over a hill into the setting sun.  Your friend stands off to the side on top of the hill, purposely blocking the sun from your vision.  I'm sure that would be considered assisting as well.


Posted

I can't believe I'm jumping in this thread 8 years later, but I don't see how this isn't a violation of 14.2. Look at Decision 14-2/0.5:

Q.What are considered "elements" under Rule 14-2a?

A.Elements include sunlight, rain, wind, snow and other weather conditions.

-Greg

I would not agree with that. See the decisions below.

14-2/2.5

Player Positions Bag for Purpose of Providing Shade for Ball

Q.A player positions his golf bag near the teeing ground for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from the position where he tees his ball. He then makes a stroke. Is he in breach of Rule 14-2?

A.Yes. As the player was not in contact with the golf bag, he accepted protection from the elements in breach of Rule 14-2a. This answer differs from that in Decision 14-2/2 as, in that case, the player was in contact with the umbrella.

While a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from his ball, he may ask a person (e.g., a spectator) who is already in position not to move, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or to move, so that his shadow is not over the ball.

Also,

14-2/2

Player Holds Umbrella Over Own Head When Playing Stroke

Q.A player playing in the rain holds an umbrella over his head with one hand while holing a very short putt, gripping the putter with the other hand. Is this permissible?

A.Yes. Rule 14-2a prohibits a player, while making a stroke, from accepting protection from the elements from someone other than himself. However, it does not prohibit him from protecting himself.

Basically rule 14.2 is about accepting outside assistance. Meaning a shadow is part of the golfer, hence he is allowed to protect himself from the elements. This is why golfer are allowed to wear rain gear, warmer clothing and sunglasses.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I would not agree with that. See the decisions below.

Basically rule 14.2 is about accepting outside assistance. Meaning a shadow is part of the golfer, hence he is allowed to protect himself from the elements. This is why golfer are allowed to wear rain gear, warmer clothing and sunglasses.

Yeah, but in the OP, the golfer purposely positioned his shadow to assist his partner.  If he happened to just be standing there and his partner asked him not to move, fine.  Or if his partner asked him to move away, fine.  But to allow him to purposely position his shadow to assist in eliminating distractions, I don't see how that's not a violation.


Posted

Yeah, but in the OP, the golfer purposely positioned his shadow to assist his partner.  If he happened to just be standing there and his partner asked him not to move, fine.  Or if his partner asked him to move away, fine.  But to allow him to purposely position his shadow to assist in eliminating distractions, I don't see how that's not a violation.

Quote:

While a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from his ball, he may ask a person (e.g., a spectator) who is already in position not to move, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or to move, so that his shadow is not over the ball.

Not entirely sure. @Rulesman might have better insight on that. He tends to be the go to guy for posts about rules on the forum.

I think it depends on the match. If the partner is actually apart of that person's match like Foursomes play, then I would think this would be a breach in the rules.

If he is talking Partner in terms of just being on the same team, but not directly in the same match. Example would be having two man teams, but each member plays their own individual matches. Winning team is just the outcome of the two matches plus tiebreakers after the fact. I don't see it as a penalty because that person is not really a partner in the match.

The direct decision is the player himself positioning the person with the intent to block the sun. No where does it say that anyone else can't do it, well as long as it isn't a caddie.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Your opponent was correct.  Rule 14-2a prohibits such action.  Specifically:

14-2 . Assistance

a . Physical Assistance and Protection from Elements

A player must not make a stroke while accepting physical assistance or protection from the elements.

Further elaboration is provided in Decision 14-2/2.5 -- Player Positions Bag for providing shade for ball

Q. A player positions his golf bag near the teeing ground for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from the position where he tees his ball. He then makes a stroke. Is he in breach of Rule 14-2 ?

A. Yes. As the player was not in contact with the golf bag, he accepted protection from the elements in breach of Rule 14-2a . This answer differs from that in Decision 14-2/2 as, in that case, the player was in contact with the umbrella.

While a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from his ball, he may ask a person (e.g., a spectator) who is already in position not to move, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or to move, so that his shadow is not over the ball.


Note: This thread is 4062 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.