Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Rules Questions. Casual water close to water hazard


Note: This thread is 5357 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hope this is in the right forum.

I recently played around in Australia an they have got some extra water this year. One of the waterhazards was flooded. I ended up outside the hazard but in some water connected to hazard.

From the rules i read this


Water hazard = All ground or water within the margin of a water hazard is part of the water hazar

Casual water = Casual water is any temporary water on the course which is not in a water hazard and that is visible before or after a player takes his stance.

The bold the reason i dont think it should be a waterhazard.

My opponent was sure he heard somewhere that it should be treated as a hazard. I had my rulesbook and showed him the above quotes but he was certain so i played an alternative ball but counted "my" ruling with a drop for casual water.

Can someone clearify this? If it is to be treated as a waterhazard please refer to decision or rule.

Thank you


Posted


Originally Posted by klund

Hope this is in the right forum.

I recently played around in Australia an they have got some extra water this year. One of the waterhazards was flooded. I ended up outside the hazard but in some water connected to hazard.

From the rules i read this

Water hazard = All ground or water within the margin of a water hazard is part of the water hazar

Casual water = Casual water is any temporary water on the course which is not in a water hazard and that is visible before or after a player takes his stance.

The bold the reason i dont think it should be a waterhazard.

My opponent was sure he heard somewhere that it should be treated as a hazard. I had my rulesbook and showed him the above quotes but he was certain so i played an alternative ball but counted "my" ruling with a drop for casual water.

Can someone clearify this? If it is to be treated as a waterhazard please refer to decision or rule.

Thank you


You are correct.  water outside of the margin of the hazard is casual water.  Decision 25/2 covers this:

25/2  Overflow from Water Hazard

Q. If a pond (water hazard) has overflowed, is the overflow casual water?

A. Yes. Any overflow of water from a water hazard which is outside the margin of the hazard is casual water.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 1 month later...
Posted

Interesting side bar to this.  Played a course southwest of LA back in February that had gotten a lot of rain.  Because of it's location and terrain there was a lot of water on the course.  Some of the larger areas were actually marked with stakes as hazards.  Found it confusing at first because these didn't show on my GPS.  Didn't really think about it since I didn't get into any of them but assume they were valid as hazards because a) they weren't an extension of an existing hazard and b) they were clearly marked as hazards.


Posted

Our high school golf season in Maine is in the fall. We play down at Augusta at a course just outside the city. We received a couple of inches of rain the day before and it was interesting for sure. Everywhere you stepped it was standing water. I have never seen a course played where you couldn't take relief from standing water because on some holes there was no where to get relief from it. Definitely an interesting experience.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5357 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.