IGNORED

New to the forum. How does handicap work?

TAWM
Note: This thread is 4610 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello all, I am new to this forum. I have been playing for a few years, not frequently but the last year I have been playing more and this year I joined a club. I know what my handicap is but I don't know what the purpose is. I see the handicap on each hole on the card but have no idea what it means. Someone said it was supposed to help your score but that didn't seem fair to me. What's the deal?

After doing some searching on here it appears that maybe I didn't figure my handicap correctly either. I was told to average ten rounds of 18 and subtract 72 from that number. So thats probably wrong huh?

your handicap is the amount of extra shots you are given per round.

Each hole is given a shot index (handicap number) and this lets you know how difficult the hole actually is. For example the hole that has a SI/ handicap of 1 is the hardest hole on the course.

If you look at my handicap of 6 i would get an extra shot on the holes rated 1,2,3,4,5 and 6 during my round to help me.

if your hanndicap is 23 you will recieve an extra shot on every hole (1-18) and an additional shot (2 in total on 1,2,3,4,5.

This will help to even out any playing field you are in for example if we were to play against each other on the hole rated 1 you would recieve an extra 2 shots to par and i would only get 1 . . etc

• Upvote 1

910D2 9.5 Stiff

906F3 PT 3 wood Stiff

Pro100 Blades 3-PW X100

Vintage 52 and 60 wedge

C67

Do people actually play that way? If I get two extra shots to par and I make it on the second does that mean I mark a par on the score card? And if I make it in the cup on the first "extra" shot do I get a birdie? That doesn't seem fair to the golfers who are actually good.