IGNORED

My Swing (domc36)

domc36
Note: This thread is 4602 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Im about a 20ish handicap. I have the typical high capper slice. I experience misshits, super chunky, scald, duff etc. I shoot mid 40's though 9. Broke 30 once this summer. I've been playing since about last June. So a little over a year. So tell me what you guys think. And obviously, any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!

Hi domc36,

I am by no means a pro, but from what I can tell you do come over the top. I recently fixed my over the top swing by keeping my right elbow "tucked" close to my body. Not a forced thing, just keep it close and have your elbow pointing at your right hip. Once there, you can drop your arms to start the downswing and get the lower body involved.

It also doesn't appear that you move your hips laterally at all in the downswing. I am not sure if this is gospel or not, but I was always told to move your hips forward as you swing down.

at 0:07 of the face-on video, at and just after impact, you can see that you are pulling up and in with a straightening left knee and hips nearly square at impact.

This is a result of you OTT move and the up is your way of creating room for that OTT move.

I'm not the guy to ask about fixes because I setup differently. Still, it seems like you need to give yourself room by maybe clearing your hips or standing a bit farther from the ball or something. Then work on that first move of the downswing being more under than out. Think LPGA.

I know that I am getting closer when at impact I am driving into a flexed lead knee instead of a straightening lead knee.

Great swing for such a new player. And breaking 30 is a real feat.

Russ - Student of the Moe Norman swing as taught by the pros at - http://moenormangolf.com