• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
TheGeekGolfer

Drop question...

Recommended Posts

Question on where to drop and how to count the strokes.

Situation: Drove into a lateral hazard on the left-hand side of the 18th hole (really messed up 4 of the last 5 holes in an otherwise solid round, but that's another post).  I had a decent lie and the ball was just inside the hazard line and not in the lake.  I tried to punch it up the fairway through a gap in between 2 trees.  I slipped/hit a crappy shot and it hit the tree to my right and ricocheted into the lake.  The tree is inside the hazard line, so the ball never technically left the hazard.

Question: Where do I drop my next ball?  What are my options for dropping?  Can I drop inside the hazard and replay my next shot where I played the last one from?  Do I drop outside the hazard, 2 club-lengths from where it hit the tree?  Could I drop on other side of lateral hazard?  I dropped outside the hazard and proceeded to make double-bogey (7 on a par-5) (if I scored it right?).

How I scored it: Hit into hazard (1), hit tree (2), dropped outside hazard (3), hit good layup shot (4), hit shot just off green (5), chipped on (6), one-putt (7).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Good question!  Is it possible you should have dropped outside hazard back where your original shot crossed the hazard line, rather than near the tree you banked shot 2 off of?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by mdl

Good question!  Is it possible you should have dropped outside hazard back where your original shot crossed the hazard line, rather than near the tree you banked shot 2 off of?



Actually, I forgot to specify exactly where I dropped.  I did drop 2 club-lengths from where it originally crossed the hazard line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

26-2. Ball Played Within Water Hazard

a. Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard

If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke , the player may:

(i) proceed under Rule 26-1 a. If, after dropping in the hazard, the player elects not to play the dropped ball, he may:

(a) proceed under Rule 26-1 b, or if applicable Rule 26-1 c, adding the additional penalty of one stroke prescribed by the Rule and using as the reference point the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of this hazard before it came to rest in this hazard ; or

(b) add an additional penalty of one stroke and play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which
the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5 ); or

(ii) proceed under Rule 26-1b , or if applicable Rule 26-1 c; or

(iii) under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5 ).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Based on this it sounds like you were closest to 26-2(i)(a), except you omitted one penalty stroke.

How I scored it:  Hit into hazard (1), hit tree (2), dropped outside hazard (3), hit good layup shot (4), hit shot just off green (5), chipped on (6), one-putt (7).

Between (2) and (3) should have been dropped inside hazard.  So it should have gone:

Hit into hazard (1), hit tree (2), dropped inside hazard (3), dropped outside hazard (4), hit good layup shot (5), hit shot just off green (6), chipped on (7), one-putt (8).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by turtleback

26-2. Ball Played Within Water Hazard

a. Ball Comes to Rest in Same or Another Water Hazard

If a ball played from within a water hazard comes to rest in the same or another water hazard after the stroke, the player may:

(i) proceed under Rule 26-1a. If, after dropping in the hazard, the player elects not to play the dropped ball, he may:

(a) proceed under Rule 26-1b, or if applicable Rule 26-1c, adding the additional penalty of one stroke prescribed by the Rule and using as the reference point the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of this hazard before it came to rest in this hazard; or

(b)add an additional penalty of one stroke and play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from whichthe last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5); or

(ii) proceed under Rule 26-1b, or if applicable Rule 26-1c; or

(iii)under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the last stroke from outside a water hazard was made (see Rule 20-5).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Based on this it sounds like you were closest to 26-2(i)(a), except you omitted one penalty stroke.

Between (2) and (3) should have been dropped inside hazard.  So it should have gone:

Hit into hazard (1), hit tree (2), dropped inside hazard (3), dropped outside hazard (4), hit good layup shot (5), hit shot just off green (6), chipped on (7), one-putt (8).


I don't think that's correct.  You're focusing on option i, which allows for a drop as near as possible from where the last shot was played. If the player doesn't want to play that drop, he can then drop outside the hazard. Total penalty strokes would be 2, one for each drop.

However as I read it the OP played correctly under option ii, which allows for directly proceeding under 26-1c, which allows the drop outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard, with the addition of the one penalty stroke under that rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks to me like he proceeded correctly.  He counted the penalty stroke (that was his drop - stroke 3).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • How about hitting a provisional? http://www.randa.org/Rules-of-Golf/MainRules/27-Ball-Lost-or-Out-of-Bounds-Provisional-Ball/SubRules/2-Provisional-Ball  
    • If the new rules are implemented, the 3-minute rule will hopefully speed up play and make people think about hitting a provisional ball more often.
    • It's the long game (full swing) by a mile and we've had this discussion on here soooooo many times, it's really not a debate.      
    • Golf has always been a shot of specialty!. Some excel over their infamous putting technique, and a couple would brag about their 190yard 7 iron off the tee!. Like any puzzle, our golf game is structured preferably in one of the fields. The question remains, which has more value to you? and why is it important!   Long Game Driver - "The Big Stick" is crucial on pacing up your game. Having a solid off the tee shot on a par 4/5 puts you in contention for a well-deserved birdie. Depending on how far you hit it, a solid drive is a clear advantage over your buddies. Using it 14 times (excluding par 3s) makes it underwhelming, yet it's the most prized possession in a golf bag.   Fairway Woods - A great sidekick for the mid-range distance hitter, and a club for playing it subtle off the tee. Someone who values course management will have a fairway wood at his/her disposal!. Irons - the term "ball striker" is given to amateurs with good iron control. To play around with a draw to a "low draw" is significant to have that 3ft putt for birdie. Short Game   Wedges - Our lifeline, the butter of our bread, and a shot caller that'll save your round!. mastering your wedge shots has its own league of specialties. Greenside bunker shots, the long chip & roll, Flop shot, and a scope of characteristics where imagination is key!.   Putter - Often overlooked, putting is the gateway for shooting lower scores. This makes up 40% of our golf game and we barely give it much attention. If you wanna rake in lower scores, then "putt" some practice into it!. So Which is it? Finding your balance, and giving love for every department is the key!. Knowing your weakness is crucial to understand your core strengths!. The learning cycle of the game differentiates as you get better at it. In my opinion, a weekend golfer would prioritize their long game than of an experienced player polishing up their short game.   To read the full article - Click here
    • I voted "no". Reason being there is/are sanctioned events and tours (e.g. Michigan Hickory Tour) and some are even shown on Sky Sports. They even have the Trilby Tour. This is a real amateur tour where the main stipulation is that you have to wear a trilby hat (i kid you not). Like many have said, the tech is soooooo different that it is more likely to be detrimental to their regular game that anything other than 9 holes or so for charity or exhibition wouldnt be worth it for them. That being said, some older pro's have switched largely to hickory golf with a lot of success. Sandy Lyle for instance won the hickory World Golf Open in 2014 and 2016. Still plays modern gear but in interviews says he enjoys the old stuff more. Difference is that Sandy isn't competing at the very top of the sport these days.
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Get Great Gear with Amazon