Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4963 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Our grounds keepers have been doing some work on our bunkers. Some have been moved a little, some had the face re-turfed etc. When this has necessitated laying new turf that area around the bunker has been marked with a white line and GUR painted on the ground. The line has skirted the edge of the bunker, meaning the bunkers have been in play.

There has been no local rules posted that I have seen. But there have been some drop zones painted nearby the GUR, I think because nearest point of relief from some positions is going to be in the bunker, or in gorse bushes.

A few weeks ago the question came up of whether a drop was an option, or is it mandatory for the player to take relief from GUR? In this case it was just that he had a good lie and stance and going to the drop zone would have taken him back about 15 yards.

It happened again yesterday, but this time there was no drop zone and the nearest point of relief was in the bunker. Am I correct that when working out nearest point of relief you do not take other hazards or obstacles into account? It's not relief from the GUR and any surrounding bunkers, but just from the GUR? So with no drop zone, he either had to go into the bunker or play it as it lay?


Posted
Originally Posted by Mordan

It happened again yesterday, but this time there was no drop zone and the nearest point of relief was in the bunker. Am I correct that when working out nearest point of relief you do not take other hazards or obstacles into account? It's not relief from the GUR and any surrounding bunkers, but just from the GUR? So with no drop zone, he either had to go into the bunker or play it as it lay?

Hi Mordan,

Trying to follow your questions. Here are some general comments..

You are not required to take relief from a GUR under he Rules of Golf.

If the committee makes a local rule where relief is mandatory, they may provide a drop zone.  Drop zones may or may not be mandatory. In the case of a mandatory drop, if you don't use the drop zone, you will still have to take relief under the rules below.

If the GUR is Through the Green, (not in the Bunker), your Nearest Point of Relief can not be in a Hazard.  The bunker is a hazard.  The NPR could be in a bush or some other unwanted spot however.  25-1b(i)

If the GUR is in the bunker, then you have two drop options in the bunker with no penalty, and one option outside the bunker with a one stroke penalty. 25-1b(ii)

Let me qualify the last statement by saying if the entire bunker has been deemed GUR by the committee, then it loses it's status as a hazard and becomes Through the Green.  Rule 25-1b(i) applies and not 25-1b(ii)

Hope this helps.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Hi Mordan,

Trying to follow your questions. Here are some general comments..

You are not required to take relief from a GUR under he Rules of Golf.

If the committee makes a local rule where relief is mandatory, they may provide a drop zone.  Drop zones may or may not be mandatory. In the case of a mandatory drop, if you don't use the drop zone, you will still have to take relief under the rules below.

If the GUR is Through the Green, (not in the Bunker), your Nearest Point of Relief can not be in a Hazard.  The bunker qualifies as a hazard.  The NPR could be in a bush or some other unwanted spot however.  25-1b(i)

If the GUR is in the bunker, then you have two drop options in the bunker with no penalty, and one option outside the bunker with a one stroke penalty. 25-1b(ii)

Let me qualify the last statement by saying if the entire bunker has been deemed GUR by the committee, then it loses it's status as a hazard and becomes Through the Green.  Rule 25-1b(i) applies and not 25-1b(ii)

Hope this helps.

Thanks Dormie.

So as a more general statement, the nearest point of relief can never be in a hazard? Say for instance I'm taking relief from casual water, does that also hold true? That does seem to make sense in terms of fairness.

The GUR bits all make sense to me, I think the confusion arises because my club is not very good at posting local rules. I'm pretty sure they haven't posted local rules while these drop zones have been in play.

One final question, if the white GUR lines are fading (possibly they're no longer repainting them as the areas are ready for play now) what determines when you stop playing them as GUR? Is it that you can claim GUR should there be any evidence of a white line?


Posted
Originally Posted by Mordan

Thanks Dormie.

So as a more general statement, the nearest point of relief can never be in a hazard? Say for instance I'm taking relief from casual water, does that also hold true? That does seem to make sense in terms of fairness.

Not if your ball lies "through the green" GUR relief is as follows:

(i ) Through the Green : If the ball lies through the green , the player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief . The nearest point of relief must not be in a hazard or on a putting green . When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief , the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the condition and is not in a hazard and not on a putting green .

Remember, how you proceed is always based on where the ball lies on the course. Not where your stance lies or touches.

As far as faded lines, if you were in a tournament and had no guidance from the committee or referee I would play two balls.  If it were a casual game, your call.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4963 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.