Jump to content
IGNORED

Kevin Na on 18 - 2 stroke penalty?


chriskzoo
Note: This thread is 4375 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I only saw a bit of it with the volume down, so I didn't hear the full commentary, but basically Na hit a shot right on #17/18 and had to take relief from the cart path.

He elected to drop ON the cart path and eventually (I didn't see, but I assume) he had to place the ball.  He then proceeded to hit a 3w/2h off the cart path.  It was a nice shot BTW.

Seemed very odd to me, but I guess it was well within the rules.

Take relief by dropping on the same thing you are taking relief from....

Brad

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It's a non-issue let it go already....

Already discussed here. http://thesandtrap.com/t/57979/kevin-na-on-18-2-stroke-penalty

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha 10.5* 

3WD:  Callaway Big Bertha 15* / X2 Hot H4 Hybrid
Irons:  Callaway Apex 4-PW Project X 5.5 shafts

Wedges: Callaway MackDaddy 2  52/58
Putter: Odyessey Metal X Milled 1

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Motley01

It's a non-issue let it go already....

Thanks for the link, I missed that thread.

Not sure why you got on me though, it was just a question about the decision.  I'm not sure I have anything to let go of at this point.

I even complemented the shot Na made.

Have a great day!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by bmartin461

Thanks for the link, I missed that thread.

Not sure why you got on me though, it was just a question about the decision.  I'm not sure I have anything to let go of at this point.

I even complemented the shot Na made.

Have a great day!

Sorry I didn't mean to come across like that at all. But someone in that other thread was arguing with me about it.

My appologies!

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha 10.5* 

3WD:  Callaway Big Bertha 15* / X2 Hot H4 Hybrid
Irons:  Callaway Apex 4-PW Project X 5.5 shafts

Wedges: Callaway MackDaddy 2  52/58
Putter: Odyessey Metal X Milled 1

Link to comment
Share on other sites


On the final round of the 2012 Players on 18 Kevin Na took what I belief was a stance relief from the cart path.  He then dropped his ball and played from the cart path with his feet still on the cart path.  I thought you were required to take nearest point of full relief (with full relief meaning that you are no longer hindered by the obstruction from which you are claiming relief).  Can someone explain what happened?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Mutt

On the final round of the 2012 Players on 18 Kevin Na took what I belief was a stance relief from the cart path.  He then dropped his ball and played from the cart path with his feet still on the cart path.  I thought you were required to take nearest point of full relief (with full relief meaning that you are no longer hindered by the obstruction from which you are claiming relief).  Can someone explain what happened?

At last someone has brought this up.It was blatant cheating.

Very few people saw it, and he thought he got away with it.

He has been removed from the Tour for 3 months and did not receive prizemoney.

His FedEX Cup points have been canceled for the year.

He has been ordered to give clinics to children for the rest of the year.

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Shorty

At last someone has brought this up.It was blatant cheating.

Very few people saw it, and he thought he got away with it.

He has been removed from the Tour for 3 months and did not receive prizemoney.

His FedEX Cup points have been canceled for the year.

He has been ordered to give clinics to children for the rest of the year.

Okay, now that is funny.

My Tools of Ignorance:

Driver: Ping I20 9.5*
Woods/Hybrids: Cobra AMP 3W and 3 HY

Irons: Cobra AMP 4-GW

Wedges: Callaway Forged Copper 56* and 60*

Putters: Scotty Cameron  35" (Several of the flow neck blade variety)

Ball: Bridgestone B330-RX and Srixon Z-Star

Bag: Nike Performance Carry

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Originally Posted by Mutt

On the final round of the 2012 Players on 18 Kevin Na took what I belief was a stance relief from the cart path.  He then dropped his ball and played from the cart path with his feet still on the cart path.  I thought you were required to take nearest point of full relief (with full relief meaning that you are no longer hindered by the obstruction from which you are claiming relief).  Can someone explain what happened?

http://thesandtrap.com/t/57979/kevin-na-on-18-2-stroke-penalty

Boy this is getting a lot of play.  I wonder why folks aren't seeing the other thread?

I'm a little surprised no one has mentioned the little stutter move (I thought I saw) Johnny Vegas do after hitting his tee shot on 17.  Seemed like he was allowing or showing Zach Johnson's caddie what club he had just used.  And no I'm not calling anyone a cheater.

Regards,

John

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Actually i was listening to the comentary on XM Radio, they said he got relief from ground under repair since the ground was damaged from the the people walking around and the chairs sitting there. As you can see the ground was really tore up, the pga basically considers this GUR, because its not the normal conditions of the course, or conditions caused by tourniment play (ball ending up in a divot). So he was allowed to drop it on the cart path, which he could then take another drop if he wanted to.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4375 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Ahh the old classic "nobody agrees with me so I don't want to talk about it anymore"
    • @anaveragehacker, you’ve been ignorant this whole time and now you’re being disrespectful. Not a great combo. You asked what the rules were and we told you. You complained about them and we told you why they were the way they are. The “who is the committee?” Question has been answered a few times. Dave and I are Rules Officials and the other people replying know the rules far better than you, so the fact that we are all disagreeing with you should say something. this thread is going nowhere and your original question has been answered several times.
    • What is this committee I keep hearing about? We’re a small league playing at a county course. And these are temporary issues that may be gone in a day or two. In any case, I wish more people agreed with me. It seems that trying to convince golfers to modernize rules is like trying to change the Bible. You guys are so serious it kind of proves my point. Other sports make adjustments for  field conditions etc during lower level play. This isn’t life and death here, it’s sport. No need to keep arguing. I have my opinion and you have yours.
    • Yeah, I agree that some of the charts are hard to make sense of. That short game chart is showing how often a short game shot ends up within a certain distance. The orange bar is all shots, the green bar is for shots within 25 yards, and the blue bar is for shots between 25 and 50 yards. I just play around with all of it and will figure it out. I would suggest just diving in and see what jumps out and work on that.
    • PGA Tour players weight shift to their lead foot way sooner and to a higher % than amateur. I would say it is something like close to 90% lead foot at impact for PGA Tour player. For Amateurs it could be under 50%. You need to get the weight transfer over more and sooner. You can't rely on the feeling of finishing on the lead foot as validation you did so. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...