IGNORED

My Swing (Sandy Trap)

Sandy Trap
Note: This thread is 4370 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: This is my first year.

My current handicap index or average score is: Not sure, I am brand new.

My typical ball flight is: For my driver I typically have a nice draw.

The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: "Topping" the ball, or as I like to call them: "Grounders".  I also have a tendency to "hook" my Irons to the left.

The below video and still shots are my current (5/12/2012) driver swing.  In this clip I am using a "baseball" grip.  The club used is a TaylorMade Burner 2.0 with a Stiff shaft and a 10.5* face.  My swing speed in this video is probably around 110 (educated guess from the PGA instructor who was filming), but I have since toned it down a little bit and am probably closer to 105.  On this day my good drives were typically landing between 240-250 yards (the tree line in the video marks 250 and some balls did make it into the woods).

Note:  Several years ago I broke my lower right leg.  I currently still have a plate and ten screws in that back leg.  My point is that my back foot points outward more than normal at all times, and is not something that I can change without being very uncomfortable.

Thank you for taking the time to watch and I appreciate all input.

Videos:

driver-swing-5-12-12.png

Couple of good videos for you to check out.  Hands are too far apart on the grip causing some issues on the backswing.  With the motion of the swing I'd like to see the left shoulder work down longer.  The shoulders are turning too shallow, meaning on an angle that is close to parallel to the ground.  Turning the shoulders in a manner like the video below, keeps the head steady, which makes it easier to strike the ball consistently solid.