• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
    • iacas

      Win a Cart with Sun Mountain and TST!   06/02/2017

      You can win a Speed Cart GT or a Micro Cart GT from Sun Mountain!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Play suspended, ball marked......what if......

5 posts in this topic

This may sound like an elementary question, but what happens at a tournament (the PGA this past weekend for example) if play is suspended, a player marks his ball on the green (or anywhere else for that matter) and a huge storm blows through and moves the mark or blows the marker away? Or more specifically, what is done to make sure that the mark isn't moved by an outside agency (ie a Tiger or Rory fan running a covert operation and sneaking onto the course and moving the marker closer to the hole)?

I'm sure the rule would be to replace the mark to it's original position, but how do they know this "exact position"?


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Good question.

I would have to say, it would be replaced to the best of their knowledge, the caddies and other players would also help determine this.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

It's covered in Rule 6-8d (iii):

d . Procedure When Play Resumed

Play must be resumed from where it was discontinued, even if resumption occurs on a subsequent day. The player must, either before or when play is resumed, proceed as follows:

(i) if the player has lifted the ball, he must, provided he was entitled to lift it under Rule 6-8c , place the original ball or a substituted ball on the spot from which the original ball was lifted. Otherwise, the original ball must be replaced;

(ii) if the player has not lifted his ball, he may, provided he was entitled to lift it under Rule 6-8c , lift, clean and replace the ball, or substitute a ball, on the spot from which the original ball was lifted. Before lifting the ball he must mark its position; or

(iii) if the player’s ball or ball-marker is moved (including by wind or water) while play is discontinued, a ball or ball-marker must be placed on the spot from which the original ball or ball-marker was moved.

Note: If the spot where the ball is to be placed is impossible to determine, it must be estimated and the ball placed on the estimated spot. The provisions of Rule 20-3c do not apply.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

Ask Colin Montgomerie.

That would be an interesting test - which causes Monty to blow his top more - "Mrs Doubtfire" or the ball in Indonesia


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • I have 1 shot that is absolutely leaps and bounds more heroic than any shot I've ever made in my life... and it happened just about 2 weeks ago. I'm playing 9 holes after work one day. Nice weather, but I'm playing fairly poorly but not terribly. I'm still enjoying myself. I get to the 9th hole and I'm something like 9 over for the round if I'm remembering correctly. It's a dogleg left 525 yard par 5, uphill, upwind (usually) with a massive grain silo smack at the turn of the dogleg (the signature monument for the course). There's no trees but to "cut the corner;" you have to hit it something about 320 yards from the men's tees to not be in danger - so no way for me. I hit a drive that leaks right, into the handful of trees. Not where you want to be but usually reasonably playable, but it just makes the hole VERY long from there. So I walk up to my ball and it's resting under a tree, "great..." I say to myself. It's sitting back behind the tree on the fairway side of #8 but the trunk itself isn't in my line of sight to get back up and into the fairway. The problem was all of the low branches on the tree. And it was about 15-20 ft. OF those branches between the ball and getting out straight. I though to myself "great... I'm going to have to basically punch out because nothing I have will clear below the branches" (they were very thick, no way to even hope to get through them). Then I said to myself "I'd need like 10 degrees of loft to get under there. Then I looked at my bag and said... "this is my moment." Look back down at the ball, it's slightly above my feet... sitting perched on some light rough. I look down the line and I say to myself "how could I NOT hit driver here???" Grab my driver, line her up, and BAMMMM! I hit a B-E-A-UTIFUL bullet right up under the branches, no contact, and split the fairway in two. AND hit it about 250 yards! In excellent shape to easily get on in 3 (which I did, AND sank the birdie putt!). It was a great end to my round. I had never even attempted to hit driver off the deck up to that point, and I've been playing a few years now. I don't think I'll ever top that shot. It was just too beautiful, like a unicorn in my game. 
    • This one might be for @iacas or @mvmac, but open to anyone's opinion.       I'm a right-handed player and on my right hand, the joint between the tip and 2nd bone was fused together because of a baseball injury when I was in little league.    The result of this injury is I cannot bend it at all, say to wrap it around the grip when setting up for a shot. My question is, how much does the right trigger finger play a role in controlling any aspect of the swing?   Obviously, I have compensated for it and I don’t ever think about it when I play, but a recent post showing the Ben Hogan grip made me think of it again as it clearly shows him wrapping the finger around the grip. Any thoughts?  
    • I did see your statements regarding the power relative to the accuracy and I definitely agree. I certainly think it would be an uphill battle for any female. As this conversation has progressed throughout the day today, I think in a one day single round tournament a female would be able to compete and have a chance to win, but I dont think there is a female capable of putting together 4 near perfect rounds to be able to compete with the guys
    • Agreed.    However, back to conspiracies, the worst that could happen is someone finds a cure and screws Big Pharma out of their golden goose!
    • That is interesting. I remember seeing recently that Cuba may have a lung cancer vaccine that had some rate of success. They don't give it to you until you are diagnosed with cancer. Would be awesome if people with terminal cancer diagnoses could be allowed to try whatever treatments they want. What's the worst that could happen? They die?
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bummy2020
      (30 years old)
    2. jahcob
      (31 years old)
    3. Langos
      (18 years old)
    4. Shindig
      (34 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon