IGNORED

Getting My First Set of Irons

GLax2
Note: This thread is 4236 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I just started playing golf this February, and I've been using my grandpa's old Cobra oversized Senior Irons. I was at my local golf store, and saw a set of barely used Titleist AP1 irons for $420. They are 3-PW and S300 shafts. I have a swing speed of 86 but I've been told its going to increase very soon. I'm 17 and about 6 feet tall if that matters. Is this a good deal?

Razr Hawk 10.5

Tight Lies 3 Wood

AP1 3-P

ZTP 56* Wedge

I don't think it's a good deal. I think you should go to a Walmart, pick up some Jack Nicklaus Golden Bear full set or something similar that's endorsed by a legend for $99 to $129. Pick up a $10 putter of your choice, pick up a dozen Top-Flites, put the money saved toward green fees and roll to the course knowing your equipment is as good if not better than anyone's.

Originally Posted by GLax2

I just started playing golf this February, and I've been using my grandpa's old Cobra oversized Senior Irons. I was at my local golf store, and saw a set of barely used Titleist AP1 irons for $420. They are 3-PW and S300 shafts. I have a swing speed of 86 but I've been told its going to increase very soon. I'm 17 and about 6 feet tall if that matters. Is this a good deal?

Nothing wrong with Cobra Oversized Irons from the 90's.

Don't know the shafts but senior flex may suit you better for the moment.

Tell us more about your game.

Ping G400 Max 9/TPT Shaft, TEE EX10 Beta 4, 5 wd, PXG 22 HY, Mizuno JPX919F 5-GW, TItleist SM7 Raw 55-09, 59-11, Bettinardi BB39

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by PinnacleGold