Jump to content
Note: This thread is 4067 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

The diagram in the decision may be a little confusing at first glance.

The arc drawn from X2 to Y2 does not cross land. However, the ruling is based in a straight line from X2 to Y2, which does cross land.

In the case in point, the line from the entry point to the green spot does cross land so the green spot is not on the opposite margin.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Not if the ball last crossed the margin at the point where the yellow arrow is.  Side opposite from that point is across the pond farther left.  In order for the green spot to be valid, the ball would have to have last crossed to the right of the point of the peninsula.  It's only in that case that the opposite side would be to the right across the finger of water toward the fairway.  David posted the diagram from decision 26-1/14 which shows the treatment for this situation.  He doesn't get to cross the peninsula and 2 more hazard boundaries to proceed under this rule.  He either drops on the peninsula 2 clublengths from where the ball crossed, or directly across the hazard at a point equidistant from the hole.  Directly across depends on which side of the peninsula the ball crossed to enter the hazard.

Ahhhhhh, the extra hazard boundry is the difference, even though it's the same hazard.  That makes sense.....  If he had crossed to right of the peninsula, he'd have had the fairway side as an option, right?

Yes.  Look at positions X1 and Y1 in the diagram you posted.  That is exactly the situation that the OP posted.  Note that the only option is crossing the small bay, but not the larger expanse of water.  If point Y1 was to the left of that bit of land, then his option would be on the far side of the pond, but not the near side.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks guys for the feedback. The fact that the finger of ground is however not part of the hazard and has red stakes on all sides of it. The ball did not cross to the right side of the stream at all. I think that he should have dropped on the finger of ground and not on the right of the hazard as his point of entry was over the finger of ground. The players argument was that as it is the same hazard and the markers are red he could drop on the right.

No, that was not the point. Point is that the crossing of the hazard margin needs to be exactly known in this case. Ball does not have to have been on southside of stream/dam at all to be able to drop on southside. It depends where it crosses the margin on the finger. If it crossed finger on southern "shore" then the drop would be fine, but if it crossed the northern "shore" (as drawn) then the drop was bad.


Understood and agreed. If my memory serves me well it crossed on the northern side as drawn. Will remember your point and use it in future. Thank you everyone.
  • Upvote 2

Understood and agreed. If my memory serves me well it crossed on the northern side as drawn. Will remember your point and use it in future. Thank you everyone.

Glad to help you get it straight.  Welcome to the forum and don't be a stranger.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4067 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Not really, no. I don't know the history, what you've worked on, what you've tried and moved away from… etc.
    • Day 9: 2/16/25 Putting through 50 mm gates from 11”. Swing pressure shift drills.
    • Definitely not a favorite… For some reason my wife and I started watching Cobra Kai. I know the original was pretty cheesy, but the inability of these people to get over shit that happened like 30 years ago is astounding. And these kids would be arrested, but they don’t even seem to get suspended from school. Would Danny not notice that Johnny’s son looks like Johnny? Etc.? Why would a completely different dojo that has the same name be “banned”? Oy. Not sure we’ll make it to season 2.
    • Day 139 - 2025-02-16 Weather led to a rescheduled GEARS lesson, so I used the time to work on my swing for 60 minutes or so. All downswing stuff. Some swings at 93 MPH. Most around 75-80.
    • A question I have is…this swing (fade, pull cut) does not  feel as good and easily repeatable as the draw swing we were working on previously.  I’m kinda in a weird spot where I do not know which direction will be the best to pursue. I like seeing a penetrating 5 yard draw but also like the thought of the fade not getting away from me as much.    Any thoughts on that?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...