IGNORED

New guy trying to pick new Irons

Note: This thread is 3730 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey Fellas!

Welcome to my second post!

So, this is the same old story that I am sure many of you have seen over and over again.  I'm in my mid 30's and have taken a renewed interest in golf over the last year.  With that being said, I am also a total newbie.  There is a ton of terminology that I need to learn, so there are probably some specific questions that I cannot answer.

Here is the crux of my situation. I have been using my uncle's old Golfsmiths for the past year.  These things are probably old enough to be tried as an adult.  I have updated my woods over the last year or so.  I'm hitting a Taylormade Burner Superfast 2.0 10.5 driver, Burner Superfast 3 Wood (LOVE this club) and a Burner rescue 3 Hybrid.  I recently picked up a Burner 4 hybrid and Odyssey White Ice Mini T Putter.

So, I am in need of some Irons.  I won my fantasy football league this year and am using my winnings for Irons, so I have a around $400 budget.  I see these as my gateway irons.  By that I mean that no matter what I get, they will be far superior to what I am currently using and I will either become obsessed with golf or I'll realize that I enjoy it but I will never take it too seriously.  I'm not sure if that makes any sense.

So my goal is to get the best irons I can, have them last me a few years and stay near my budget.

Here are the Irons I am considering:

Taylormade Burner Plus 4-AW

Taylormade Burner 2.0 4-AW

Calloway RAZR X HL 4-AW

I have the burner 4 hybrid so I don't need the 4 iron and I have a Tom Watson Performance Grind Wedge SW, so I am good there.