IGNORED

Weight Room

gjwhite
Note: This thread is 6041 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This seems the most appropriate board for this topic. How many of you out there a) go to the gym for weight/cardio training, and b) have a golf specific routine?

I've been lifting weights for about 6 years to build and maintain strength, while I've been running for about 3 and I must say when I train harder at either, my game seems to become a touch more solid.

Lately I've been doing exercises geared towards the muscles used in the golf swing, namely back, core, forearms, shoulders and legs (throw in chest and you've got a full body work out).

Anyone try experimenting with their routines?

In my bag:

Driver: Taylor Made R5 Dual-N, Stock stiff, 9.5*
Woods: 3 & 5 wood, Taylor Made Supersteel
Irons: Nike ProCombo, stiff, 3 through pitchingWedges: Wilson Harmonized, 55* SW, 60* LWPutter: Scotty Cameron Newport Studio 2.5Ball: Whatever ends up in my bag

i try to get into the gym as often as possible, usually about 4-5 times a week. I dont do any golf specific stuff, but i work almost all of the muscle groups (chest, back, biceps, forearms etc). I dunno really if its helped my golf game, my distance keeps increasing in small amounts, but it may just be that my swing is slowly improving. O well it certainly doesn't hurt your golf swing.

Driver: r7 460 TP 10.5 w/Ozik Altus SX
3 Wood: Tour Proto 14.5 w/Ozik Xcon7 SX
Hybrid: Tour Proto. A2TS 19 w/ Matrix Ozik Altus HB SX
Irons: R7tp w/project x 6.0
Wedges: spin milled 56 w/ Proj. x 5.5 XTour60putter: Monza CorzaBall: Pro V1/ whatevers in my bag.