IGNORED

My Swing (jasonowens)

JasonOwens
Note: This thread is 3349 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: 9 months

My current handicap index or average score is: 18

My typical ball flight is: Weak fade

The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: chunk, or top, and weak fade

Ive been playing so much since march, I work my butt off to play better golf. I was a wrestling coach just trying to excel at a new sport. To say Ive been bit by the bug is an understatement, its like I got bit by a swarm of bees more like it. My mis is a fat shot. Playing more off grass rather than mat. Im lost into what Im doing wrong. I try to take advice of low point and ball placement. Its my first post here looking forward to talking with everyone!

Videos:

Hi @JasonOwens welcome to TST. Your swing is pretty good for someone just starting out. Fat shots typically occur because your low point is behind the ball. To see this I need a face on video. We also would like to see a down the line video of not only your shadow.

You have a great deal of promise so I hope that you will look around and participate in the forum.

Michael

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Welcome to the forum @JasonOwens ,

There is a lot of great information in the Swing Thoughts section.  I would check out the thread below.  It goes through the 5 Simple Keys that all good golf swings have.  Improvement in the first two keys, Steady Head and Weight Forward at Impact, will definitely help fat shots.  A face on video will help show how you are doing now.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave