IGNORED

Putting Stroke - Arc or Straight?

Note: This thread is 3772 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello, I am a beginner golfer and I am trying my best to work on my putting. I searched the forums already and found a few interesting threads but nothing that covers this query.

Anyway, I seem to be having trouble with my putting stroke. When I first started I had a very large arc which I was told was bad and caused me to push the ball. To correct it I tried to line up and do the whole straight line only putt but that doesn't feel right. My question is how do you decide which stroke to use and which is better? I know I can become accustomed to either since I am still a beginner but I'm not sure at this point which one suits my game better.

It seems the arc is harder to control but offers a lot more finesse and speed/distance control. It is definitely easier to mishit this stroke which leads me to believe I should change it. I've searched quite a bit on the internet for information on putting strokes but nobody can really sum up the pros or con of either style. For instance, I just saw two videos on golftips where one of the pros said that every good putter has the club go slighting inside on the backstroke (which is what I try to do), whereas the second fellow said the key is keeping the clubhead straight through entire stroke. Which one of these is correct?

And lastly, if I do use a inside-square-inside arc what type of putter should I use? A blade with a cavity perhaps? Right now I am using a Tour Edge Backdraft mallet with face weighting that I just purchased and the weight is throwing me off. I believe it is supposed to stop me from twisting the club at impact... but isn't that part of the inside square inside arc?