IGNORED

need some reassurance on a driver purchase..

josef
Note: This thread is 6034 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

well, i'm new to the game.. i can hit my irons pretty well (for a newbie), but my 3 wood .. not so good. I have been wanting to get a driver, but nothing too expensive as I am still learning and will probably be hitting the ball allll over the face/head.. I really want to work on hitting my 3 wood & driver next as that is my weakest spot right now..

anyway, Edwin Watts had a huge tent sale this weekend and I picked up a driver mainly b/c it was a good deal (or so i thought..). It is a Ping G5 (w/ TFC100D Graphite) in regular flex. This is all fine and dandy except that i got suckered into getting the 9° as they didn't have the 10.5° (or more) that i was looking for.. It was $129.95 but he lowered it to $110 as he needed to get rid of it. It was a demo that he said was hit only about 3-5 times.. It looks perfect. I told him I didn't think a 9° would be best for me being new to Golf and he (a PING rep) told me that it would be fine for "As strong as you are.." (haha) .....my thoughts were 1) he's buttering me up to make a sale & 2) a $300 club for 110.. SOLD!

Anyway, can anyone tell me if I made a mistake.. I mean i don't care if I'll lose 10, even 20 yards right now.. but I shouldn't have too much of a problem getting it up in the air.. right? My first chance to hit it will be this week at the range..

i guess i just would like someone to say.. nah, it won't matter too much.. let er rip!! ... or something to that nature.. maybe it would ease my mind a bit.. haha

in the Ogio Grom stand bag:
Driver: Ping G5 9°
Wood: Taylormade V Steel 15°
Hybrid: Callaway x series 24°