Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Club (Accidentally?) Left in a Position to Influence Dropped Ball


Note: This thread is 3248 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

Someone on my club's Facebook page just asked:

"If you measure two club lengths from an unplayable lie, and leave the club on the ground, and the ball touches it when it's dropped, is that a penalty"

I pointed him towards Rule 20-2a which clearly specifies that the ball must be re-dropped, but what I didn't find anywhere in the rule or the decisions was an explicit rule about the following scenario:

I declare an unplayable lie and mark out two club lengths which gets me back to cut grass, but only just a couple of feet outside the deep rough I was in. I 'accidentally' leave the club lying along the edge of the rough. Now, if I drop it and it lands and stays put, all is fine, but if it happens to bounce in the direction of the rough it will probably hit the club and I get to re-drop.

After Rule 20-2a there is a parenthesized sentence saying:

"(Taking action to influence position or movement of ball - see Rule 1-2)"

but with no further clarification as to when that would apply and Rule 1-2 specifically applies to a 'Ball in Play' which the ball isn't yet because it hasn't been correctly dropped.

Is there a decision that I am missing here or is this a bit of a gap? I'm certainly not saying that the person using the club as a 'block' to the rough should escape penalty, I'm just struggling to justify the penalty based on the Rules/Decisions that I'm reading.

Edited by malincanada

  • Administrator
Posted

1-2 things are often weird.

I think that if it's clear he placed the club there to prevent the ball from rolling that way you could penalize immediately.

If he was careless or didn't consider it and the ball hit it, no penalty and he would re-drop but I would make sure he removed the club at that point. If he left the club after it had already been struck once then again I would penalize.

Note that the ball doesn't actually have to strike the club to be a penalty, if the intent is to influence the motion of the ball.

There's a decision about a player breaking off a limb from a branch or something and that's a penalty even if the ball doesn't roll over to that area. 

  • Upvote 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
21 minutes ago, malincanada said:

After Rule 20-2a there is a parenthesized sentence saying:

"(Taking action to influence position or movement of ball - see Rule 1-2)"

but with no further clarification as to when that would apply and Rule 1-2 specifically applies to a 'Ball in Play' which the ball isn't yet because it hasn't been correctly dropped.

Rule 1-2 says: A player must not (i) take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play or (ii) alter physical conditions with the intent of affecting the playing of a hole.

Even if the ball isn't in play, I would suggest that his actions fulfill part (ii).

  • Upvote 1

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Rule 1-2 says: A player must not (i) take an action with the intent to influence the movement of a ball in play or (ii) alter physical conditions with the intent of affecting the playing of a hole.

Even if the ball isn't in play, I would suggest that his actions fulfill part (ii).

D'oh! I focused on the 'ball in play' part and completely missed the 'or' meaning that part (ii) doesn't care whether there's a ball in play or not.

Definitely agree that clause (ii) is more than sufficient and definitely agree with you iacas that I would ensure the club was removed before the second drop.

In fact, if I was already near him, having helped search for the ball, I hope I'd be quick enough to say "Let me just move that club for you" before the first drop! :)


  • Administrator
Posted
1 hour ago, malincanada said:

In fact, if I was already near him, having helped search for the ball, I hope I'd be quick enough to say "Let me just move that club for you" before the first drop! :)

Right.

I'd have a hard time penalizing a guy who didn't do something intentionally, but… he darn well better move it after it was struck once, because NOT moving it would be intentional at that point.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Ehhhh, I don't know that I buy the premise, and you have to buy the premise to buy the bit, right?

I've watched enough golf, and seen enough pros mark off drops to see how it's done. They lay out one club length and place a tee. Then they lay out the second club length and place another tee. Then the club goes back in the bag!

Who "accidentally" leaves a club laying in the grass in a drop situation?

Look, I'm not that big of a stickler on the rules, but I think I know "jiggery pokery" when I see it!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
12 hours ago, malincanada said:

D'oh! I focused on the 'ball in play' part and completely missed the 'or' meaning that part (ii) doesn't care whether there's a ball in play or not.

 

Keep in mind, that a ball is in play after the drop.

No matter, if the drop was executed correctly or not.

20-4

If the player's ball in play has been lifted, it is again in play when dropped or placed.


Note: This thread is 3248 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.