IGNORED

Help in buying new irons

sleepers
Note: This thread is 2369 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys,

Couldn't find a sticky with specific forum rules, so if something is off here in regards to standardization let me know and/or delete the thread.

Just looking for some assistance in my new hunt for clubs. This is my first year playing, and I have never felt so passionate about anything as with golf. We have a short season here, so I started off in May and must have done +100 laps around our courses by now. Now at hcp 17, and I just sold off my Cobra F7 irons that I purchased when I first started (2017 model, new, but I am sure you all know).

From lurking this site for a couple of months I bet you can guess - I am primarily looking at Mizunos right now. I've been at the shop trying out several clubs, and in general I just like the look and feel of the non-blingbling, classic irons. I am also starting to feel like playing GI/SGI irons doesn't really help me advance in my swing or contact due to the fact that I don't get punished enough for playing a shot badly. Playing something more difficult might push me back up to 20' something, but I dont really mind. Neither am I especially interested in playing blades.. just want something in between - I think? Another lesson I've learned from trying out multiple brands and types is that a lighter shaft (like XP 95) suits me perfectly. Any heavier and I feel like I can't carry the club around me quick enough, and they end up being pushed. The cobras were at 107-something, which was too heavy.

I am not a millionaire so I can't keep spending money on new clubs, but all standard shafts seem to hang around 105-120g, which is too much for me.

So, two main questions (and then you can school me on whatever else I may be misinterpreting);