• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Joe2011

Ball marked and lifted without asking

14 posts in this topic

Hi,

What do you think/ the rules say?

My second shot lands 10 yards short of Green. My fellow competitor shots 2 yards ahead of my ball. His ball is directly on the line of my play.

Without asking me, he marks and lifts his ball.

I would have asked him to mark it if I thought it would interfere with my next shot.

Is he allowed to do this?

I am not sure if he did so so that he can replace the ball for "a better lie" or did so because he thought I might have hit his ball, or he did so just out of courtesy?

Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

He's fine, as long as he reasonably believes his ball may assist or interfere with your play.  At 2 yards distant, I think he's on shaky ground---he's not allowed to lift it because, e.g., he thinks your divot may interfere with *his* play, only because he thinks it will interfere with yours.  (If a divot did land on his ball, he'd be entitled to clear it and recreate the lie to which he was entitled.)

In casual play, I'd probably ignore it, but it might be worth mentioning to him if he is likely to play in serious competitions.  At the least, he should be in the habit of explaining what he's doing so there is some record as to why he lifted his ball.

Quote:
22-1. Ball Assisting Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that a ball might assist any other player, he may:

a. Lift the ball if it is his ball, or
b. Have any other ball lifted.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I may be wrong, but I believe he should have played his shot first. Two yards in front of your ball would have been more than adequate distance for him to make a golf swing. I'm looking for a more clear ruling right now though...good question.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm pretty sure this covers it actually....
22-2. Ball Interfering with Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted.

A ball lifted under this Rule must be replaced (see Rule 20-3 ). The ball must not be cleaned, unless it lies on the putting green (see Rule 21 ).

In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.

Note: Except on the putting green, a player may not lift his ball solely because he considers that it might interfere with the play of another player. If a player lifts his ball without being asked to do so, he incurs a penalty of one stroke for a breach of Rule 18-2a , but there is no additional penalty under Rule 22 .

...Not to mention, if he cleaned the ball as well, I think it's another penalty stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by RyderJ

I'm pretty sure this covers it actually....

22-2. Ball Interfering with Play

Except when a ball is in motion, if a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted.

A ball lifted under this Rule must be replaced (see Rule 20-3). The ball must not be cleaned, unless it lies on the putting green (see Rule 21).

In stroke play, a player required to lift his ball may play first rather than lift the ball.

Note: Except on the putting green, a player may not lift his ball solely because he considers that it might interfere with the play of another player. If a player lifts his ball without being asked to do so, he incurs a penalty of one stroke for a breach of Rule 18-2a, but there is no additional penalty under Rule 22.

...Not to mention, if he cleaned the ball as well, I think it's another penalty stroke.


No additional penalty for cleaning his ball, see Rule 21.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, by reading this, and looking back on the previous ruling I posted...would his ball not have been declared an interference?

A ball on the putting green may be cleaned when lifted under Rule 16-1 b. Elsewhere, a ball may be cleaned when lifted, except when it has been lifted:

a. To determine if it is unfit for play (Rule 5-3 );
b. For identification (Rule 12-2 ), in which case it may be cleaned only to the extent necessary for identification; or
c. Because it is assisting or interfering with play (Rule 22 ).


Originally Posted by Ignorant

No additional penalty for cleaning his ball, see Rule 21.



0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Ignorant

No additional penalty for cleaning his ball, see Rule 21.

No. His ball was off the green. He's not allowed to clean his ball.

You need to read the rule.

You are saying that it would be OK to remove a clump of mud from his ball just because another player's ball was behind him. Where is the logic in that?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



We can't really let "logic" be our guide on all rulings. Does a guy who's ball is in 2mm of casual in the rough water get to clean his ball? What about a guy who's ball ends up in muddy divot in the middle of the fairway?

Quote:

No. His ball was off the green. He's not allowed to clean his ball.

You need to read the rule.

You are saying that it would be OK to remove a clump of mud from his ball just because another player's ball was behind him. Where is the logic in that?



0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is exactly what I had interpreted as well. However, the OP never mentioned whether or not the guy cleaned his ball after marking it, so I may have gotten a bit hasty there to begin with.

No. His ball was off the green. He's not allowed to clean his ball.

You need to read the rule.

You are saying that it would be OK to remove a clump of mud from his ball just because another player's ball was behind him. Where is the logic in that?



0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone.

It was sort of a serious event amongst friends, because some prizes and points etc were at stake

Under wet conditions these days (this part of world), people seem to pick up their balls as they please, which makes me ask myself why did he do that????

In this particular case, I wasn't thinking his ball might "assist" my play. This is perfectly valid point considering his ball was indeed directly on the line of my next shot, and I could have used it to align myself. I never thought that

But he could have told me and others what he was going to do and why.

Depending on what he says, the action might have been different. e.g he could have made his shot first.

Anyway, it is nice to know what the rule says.

Thanks again

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by RyderJ

I'm pretty sure this covers it actually....

[...]

Note: Except on the putting green, a player may not lift his ball solely because he considers that it might interfere with the play of another player. If a player lifts his ball without being asked to do so, he incurs a penalty of one stroke for a breach of Rule 18-2a, but there is no additional penalty under Rule 22.

...Not to mention, if he cleaned the ball as well, I think it's another penalty stroke.


Oops, I guess I responded too quickly, this one is clearly correct.  If he thought it would assist you, then what I said was correct---but that is pretty unlikely.

Originally Posted by Shorty

No. His ball was off the green. He's not allowed to clean his ball.

You need to read the rule.

You are saying that it would be OK to remove a clump of mud from his ball just because another player's ball was behind him. Where is the logic in that?

Read the exception at the end of rule 21.  Ignorant is correct: in this case the guy should be penalized for breaching rule 22 by marking and lifting his ball due to possible  interference without being asked.  Under the exception, there is no further penalty from rule 21.  Had he legally lifted under rule 22, then yes, he'd get a penalty for cleaning it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by z

Read the exception at the end of rule 21.  Ignorant is correct: in this case the guy should be penalized for breaching rule 22 by marking and lifting his ball due to possible  interference without being asked.  Under the exception, there is no further penalty from rule 21.  Had he legally lifted under rule 22, then yes, he'd get a penalty for cleaning it.

Pretty sure that was what I said.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Shorty

Pretty sure that was what I said.


He said there was no "additional penalty" for cleaning his ball, and you told him to read the rule and pretty strongly implied he was incorrect.  So to my reading, you said exactly the opposite.  You're right that he's not *allowed* to clean it, but since there's no further penalty if he did, that's essentially moot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • TST Fantasy Golf 2016
      I had Jimmy Walker in, and pulled him since he didn't score well the first two rounds. Then he fires a 63 today. Damn.
    • Most Stressful Shot for You
      For me, it's a long carry of any kind, over water, over a cross hazard and somewhat less stressful over a fairway bunker. My miss is hardly ever too long, but it's short (right of course as a righty, but also left) aplenty. My second most stressful shot is with a severe downhill lie, especially when height is needed, to carry water, carry a bunker, stop it quickly to a green sloping away from me, etc... The first tee jitters exist too, depending on the event, competition or not, known course or not, known people or not, but after feeling completely outside my body and nearly missing the ball entirely during my first sanctioned NCGA tourney (right after they call my name), it never has been that bad and actually feels less stressful than those first two types of shot.
    • Club face angles
      No way to adjust it but you can grip the club so the face is square or open at address. The closed face angle doesn't usually effect things unless you sole it prior to gripping.
    • My Swing (Zooz)
      Glad to hear it bud! The driver is a longer club, so it is not possible to keep it underneath you as much. In golf terms they say it is a wider and slightly flatter swing. Essentially the bucket will swing more around the body, while still being connected. The basic concept is since the face has less loft, and the ball is on a tee, you need more of a sweeping motion. Don't help it or scoop up with the wrists, this can also cause a high slice. Trust the club to get the ball in the air just by contact. The driver sweeps up on the teed ball. The irons can be very descending and still work great. Without video I cannot say how descending of a blow you were achieving. It is very difficult for some people to make the two different swings but I find it can also be very easy. The tough part is understanding that this new upward sweeping swing is still a swing. It is not a lift. It still involves turn, weight transfer, acceleration. Almost all pros teach that you should just adjust your setup for driver as follows, and let the adjustments do the work for you:  First, it helps a lot if the ball is toward the front of the stance, just inside the heel of the front foot (foot closer to the target). Next you want to tilt your shoulders so the front shoulder is slightly higher and pointing up, to guide the path of the club upwards. Setting up with your shoulders slightly closed to the target of your feet and minds eye (in your case shoulders pointed a little left of target), can help too. Most importantly everything has to fire a little bit upward, the hips and shoulders. Basically it is like throwing the bucket over an obstacle, the obstacle would be like a small animal. Everything has to aim up a little more (but not fall back). Always complete the swing and weight shift 100%. Remember you can let the longer clubs be a little less underneath you. You will feel with driver as if you are swinging more around the ball as opposed to down into it. Sometimes I have people make the set up adjustments and they lose it during the swing. You have to keep the adjustments until just after impact. The best way is to get an understanding in the mind (as always) of how the club is shaped differently and how best to use it. The pros are very good at having the hands in front of the ball at impact with driver, but swinging upwards as well. This gives the ball more height and less spin. Most amatuers have the hands too far behind the ball, and don't swing up enough. Stay confident with driver and be positive. There are millions of golfers that will tell you they "cannot hit driver." Many leave it at home, or hit a slice and then say, "see I told you!" Don't be like this. Tell yourself you will be a great driver of the ball once you completely grasp it. People who beat themselves in their head have no chance of hitting a good drive. Always give yourself a chance. Also most people like this have an ingrained descending swing tbat only works with irons. The problem is on windy days the can't shallow out the plane to hit low shots. They certainly can't handle long courses. I think of the driver as my most accurate club. It's such a long club with a big sweet spot I can basically bunt it 200 yards down the fairway if I had to. Don't try to over do it. You will find more joy in hitting a low solid drive that carries 200 and rolls another 50 in the fairway, then one that carries 260 all over the place.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      yea, nice edit.  lol. seriously though, nice swing too! 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries