IGNORED

Beginner clubs: Taylormade RBZ or Adams Tight Lie

Note: This thread is 3856 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm sure this is the million and one times a beginner has come here and asked what clubs I should get. I apologizes in advance and thank you for your help. I'm completely new to this. Only been to the driving range three times over the last two weeks. Been using the loaner clubs at the range and have been enjoying it quite a lot. I'm shopping the last few days and been reading a lot of reviews and getting general advice on various forums. Here's what I'm thinking of to start, getting either a complete set of Adams Tight Lies for $499 or get an 8 piece iron set Taylormade rocketballz hp for $329 (I can also get this set with two hybrids for $549). I'm leaning toward the rocketballz, I really liked how they felt. Have not had a chance to handle the Adams yet, will be this weekend. I know equipment is no substitute for training and practice. What I'm thinking is get the Taylormades and a bunch of lessons, in a month or so buy a driver and some woods, a bag and I already have a serviceable putter so in few months I'll have a complete set. Is this reasonable for a beginner or am I missing something? I'm not sure if the taylormades are beyond my skill level or if I would grow into them and if it would be better to have a nice set of clubs to begin with then having to upgrade in a year or two. Thanks again

I agree, go with the TaylorMade stuff and enjoy!  You can find some really great drivers, either used or from a couple years back, for a great prices.

Mike McLoughlin

Check out my friends on Evolvr!
Follow The Sand Trap on Twitter!  and on Facebook
Golf Terminology -  Analyzr  -  My FacebookTwitter and Instagram 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades