Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4835 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Which of the following do you consider a hole in one?

1.  A player hits his tee shot overhanging the lip of the hole and a gust of wind blows it into the hole 12 seconds after he reached his ball.

2.  Same as 1 except he marked his ball after 9 seconds.  Then was asked by a group member to move his mark.  After moving back his mark and replacing his ball to what appeared to the naked eye as the exact location it was originally, a gust of wind blows the ball into the hole before the player has addressed his putt.

3.  A player hits his ball 20 feet above the hole on a fast, slopping green.  After marking, cleaning and replacing his ball, a gust of wind moves his ball while he is lining his putt up from the opposite side of the hole.  The ball rolls downhill for 20 feet into the hole.

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted

I would have to say none of the above. But, if these were the only choices or if it happend to me I would say #1. Even though it was 12 seconds and I believe the alotted time frame is 10 seconds, the player did not mark their ball. Granted all of these scenarios would be scored as a 1, it seems a stretch to claim 2 and 3 are a true hole in one. #1 would seem the closest situation to claim a hole in one. Anyway you look at it I'll take a 1 on a par 3 any day of the week.

My Bag:

 

Burner 9.5

X 3&5 Woods

DCI Gold 3- PW(48*) + 52* Vokey wedge

56* sand wedge

Cushin Putter


Posted
Doesn't really matter what any of us consider..... The rules are clear. None of those resulted in a holed shot. The ball is replaced in each case and the next stroke is played.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

None of the above, though if it was in a friendly match, I wouldn't have a problem with someone considering #1 a hole-in-one.  It doesn't affect me, so if he wants to tell his friends he got a hole-in-one, I'm not going to argue.


Posted
Originally Posted by David in FL

Doesn't really matter what any of us consider.....

The rules are clear. None of those resulted in a holed shot. The ball is replaced in each case and the next stroke is played.


I was discussing it with a friend, and he said the same thing. I love that I don't know everything about this great game.

My Bag:

 

Burner 9.5

X 3&5 Woods

DCI Gold 3- PW(48*) + 52* Vokey wedge

56* sand wedge

Cushin Putter


Posted
Originally Posted by David in FL

Doesn't really matter what any of us consider.....

The rules are clear. None of those resulted in a holed shot. The ball is replaced in each case and the next stroke is played.

Are you sure about that?  I had a ball move on the green in a rules question recently and I thought I was told that if I did not cause it to move, then it was not replaced and instead played from the new position http://thesandtrap.com/t/62403/ball-moved-after-marking-replacing-on-green-before-being-addressed#post_772588

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted

None of the above, though if it was in a friendly match, I wouldn't have a problem with someone considering #1 a hole-in-one.  It doesn't affect me, so if he wants to tell his friends he got a hole-in-one, I'm not going to argue.

This seems to be reasonable to me.


Posted
Are you sure about that?  I had a ball move on the green in a rules question recently and I thought I was told that if I did not cause it to move, then it was not replaced and instead played from the new position [URL=http://thesandtrap.com/t/62403/ball-moved-after-marking-replacing-on-green-before-being-addressed#post_772588]http://thesandtrap.com/t/62403/ball-moved-after-marking-replacing-on-green-before-being-addressed#post_772588[/URL]

You know, now I'm not so sure. Damn!

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by David in FL

You know, now I'm not so sure.

Damn!

Frustrating, isn`t it...I played tournament golf in high school/college, am above average intelligence, graduated law school/passed the CA Bar, try my hardest to know and play by the rules and I have still found a number of instances this season where I made a mistake or did not know the correct rule.

According to this decision, I think #2 & #3 are officially holes in one.  This strikes me as odd.

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q. A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A. Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Posted
Originally Posted by MEfree

Which of the following do you consider a hole in one?

1.  A player hits his tee shot overhanging the lip of the hole and a gust of wind blows it into the hole 12 seconds after he reached his ball.

2.  Same as 1 except he marked his ball after 9 seconds.  Then was asked by a group member to move his mark.  After moving back his mark and replacing his ball to what appeared to the naked eye as the exact location it was originally, a gust of wind blows the ball into the hole before the player has addressed his putt.

3.  A player hits his ball 20 feet above the hole on a fast, slopping green.  After marking, cleaning and replacing his ball, a gust of wind moves his ball while he is lining his putt up from the opposite side of the hole.  The ball rolls downhill for 20 feet into the hole.

1.

16-2 Ball Overhanging Hole

When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole , the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole , it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole , the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke , and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.

2 & 3

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q. A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A. Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.


Posted
Originally Posted by Rulesman

1.

16-2 Ball Overhanging Hole

When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest. If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, andmust add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole; otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.

2 & 3

18-1/12

Ball Replaced and at Rest Is Thereafter Moved by Wind

Q.A player replaces his ball on the putting green and the ball is at rest. Before the player addresses the ball, a sudden gust of wind blows the ball farther from the hole. The player plays the ball from its new position. Is that correct?

A.Yes. Wind is not an outside agency - see Definition of "Outside Agency." Accordingly, Rule 18-1 does not apply.

Thanks...So 1 is definitely not considered a hole in one and 3 is definitely considered a hole in one, but what about 2?

18-1/12 would seem to allow for it to be a hole in one, but this seems against the spirit of 16-2...by marking a ball that is overhanging the hole after 9 seconds, then putting it back in the same place for 2+ seconds it seems like the player is getting more than the 10 seconds allotted.  Also, while we may all try to put a ball back in the EXACT spot, my guess is that even if it appears to the naked eye to be in the exact spot, that if you examined it with a microscope, it is routinely off by an extremely small amount (especially after a marked has been moved and then replaced

:mizuno: MP-52 5-PW, :cobra: King Snake 4 i 
:tmade: R11 Driver, 3 W & 5 W, :vokey: 52, 56 & 60 wedges
:seemore: putter


Note: This thread is 4835 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.