or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Flapping plastic bag
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Flapping plastic bag

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 

I hit the ball into the rough which was shrubby trees and thin grass. My ball was next to a small tree. In the tree and hooked onto a branch was a white plastic bag which sort of flapped in my face when i took my stance. The caddy quickly removed it. I treated the bag as a movable obstruction and all was OK. Area was not marked as a hazard.

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

post #2 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by joekelly View Post
 

 

 

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

Not if the branch was still attached to the tree.

post #3 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by joekelly View Post
 

I hit the ball into the rough which was shrubby trees and thin grass. My ball was next to a small tree. In the tree and hooked onto a branch was a white plastic bag which sort of flapped in my face when i took my stance. The caddy quickly removed it. I treated the bag as a movable obstruction and all was OK. Area was not marked as a hazard.

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

 

 

Just for clarification, you are allowed to remove movable obstructions anywhere on the course, including hazards.  You can also move MO's that are OB. The only exception is if the ball is in motion.

post #4 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dormie1360 View Post
 

 

 

Just for clarification, you are allowed to remove movable obstructions anywhere on the course, including hazards.  You can also move MO's that are OB. The only exception is if the ball is in motion.


And in such a case the only MO one may move is the flagstick.

post #5 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignorant View Post
 


And in such a case the only MO one may move is the flagstick.

 

Yes, as long as the flagstick has been attended, removed, all held up.  Also, the equipment of any player may be moved while a ball is in motion.  These are the two exceptions allowing the moving of a MO when a ball is in motion.

 

Thanks Ignorant, should have mentioned that.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Flapping plastic bag