or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Falling in sand trap
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Falling in sand trap

post #1 of 8
Thread Starter 

Here's a good one. Recently, my ball landed in a bunker that was very steep. When entering I realized that I was going to fall into the trap and  I used my wedge to break my fall.  The club head touched the sand and my playing partners screamed at me that this was a penalty because my club head came in contact with the sand and thereffore I was "testing the condition" of the sand.  Where the club head touched the sand was no where near my ball and therefore did not have anything to do with the lie of the ball.  Can't find anything in the rules about this.  To shut these guys up I took the penalty.  Anyone know anything about this?

post #2 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomputt View Post
 

Here's a good one. Recently, my ball landed in a bunker that was very steep. When entering I realized that I was going to fall into the trap and  I used my wedge to break my fall.  The club head touched the sand and my playing partners screamed at me that this was a penalty because my club head came in contact with the sand and thereffore I was "testing the condition" of the sand.  Where the club head touched the sand was no where near my ball and therefore did not have anything to do with the lie of the ball.  Can't find anything in the rules about this.  To shut these guys up I took the penalty.  Anyone know anything about this?

 

You're right, they're wrong.  :beer:

 

 

 

13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

 

Except as provided in the Rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:

 

a. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;

 

b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or

 

c. Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard.

 

Exceptions:

 

1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.

post #3 of 8
Thread Starter 

Wow..Thanks Dave!!. For some reason could not find this rule.  Just e mailed my buddies whom I was playing with this rule and also demanded my money back!  Thanks again.

post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomputt View Post
 

Wow..Thanks Dave!!. For some reason could not find this rule.  Just e mailed my buddies whom I was playing with this rule and also demanded my money back!  Thanks again.

 

Ah, but the competition has closed, so rule 34 comes into play:

 

Quote:

b. Stroke Play 

In stroke play, a penalty must not be rescinded, modified or imposed after the competition has closed. A competition is closed when the result has been officially announced or, in stroke play qualifying followed by match play, when the player has teed off in his first match.

 

:-)

post #5 of 8

The OP doesn't make it clear whether this was match or stroke play.  In match play, if you tee off on the next hole before making a claim, it's too late.  If you're not sure, you've got to make a claim.

post #6 of 8
Almost everything comes down to "INTENT". Like the hitting the ball on the practice swing thread. If you accidently hit the ball while addressing, re-tee, no penalty. If during a practice swing you clip the ball, re-tee, no penalty. Fall down and use you club to save yourself, no penalty. It's the INTENT part that people seem to forget most of all. Trying to stop your swing and hit the ball- well, that shot counts. Poking around the bunker feeling the sand? penalty stroke or loss of hole.

"Accidently" doesn't get you out of everything though- playing the wrong ball, knocking a branch down on a restricted practice swing and such are still considered penalty worthy.
post #7 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayG View Post

Almost everything comes down to "INTENT". Like the hitting the ball on the practice swing thread. If you accidently hit the ball while addressing, re-tee, no penalty. If during a practice swing you clip the ball, re-tee, no penalty. Fall down and use you club to save yourself, no penalty. It's the INTENT part that people seem to forget most of all. Trying to stop your swing and hit the ball- well, that shot counts. Poking around the bunker feeling the sand? penalty stroke or loss of hole.

"Accidently" doesn't get you out of everything though- playing the wrong ball, knocking a branch down on a restricted practice swing and such are still considered penalty worthy.

Actually, there are very few instances in the Rules where intent matters. The definition of a stroke is one of the few.....
post #8 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post

Actually, there are very few instances in the Rules where intent matters. The definition of a stroke is one of the few.....

Well, yeah, that's kind of what I was getting at. The falling in bunker or hazard is one that wouldn't necessarily apply to "taking a stroke"... Maybe "Having a stroke" when you fall in that ice cold lake would matter.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Falling in sand trap