IGNORED

My Swing (dc2582)

dc2582
Note: This thread is 1781 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

My current handicap index or average score is: 30
My typical ball flight is: hook
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: Need to make more solid contact.  Poor ball striking and distance

I was hoping someone could give me some advice on my swing.  I've been playing for 3 years and trying to improve.  I struggle with poor contact.  This day on the range I was constantly topping the ball and not making much solid contact at all.  I suspect that maybe my back swing is too long and I should shorten it a bit?  Also, after watching the video I think I have a flying elbow.  Does this sound accurate or is there anything else I should adjust.  Any advice would be appreciated.  Thank you.

Down the line

Face on

• iacas changed the title to My Swing (dc2582)

We had very similar issues when starting out. I'm sure others will be able to provide more technical critiques, but I think the biggest issue why you're struggling with poor contact, is that you're releasing the club too soon.

Below is a screen shot of your's and Rory's swing, look at where Rory's club is when his hand reaches the golf ball, and then compare that yours. You'll see his club is still almost parallel to the ground when his hand his left hand reaches to the ball, where as your club is almost perpendicular. If you can get it closer to parallel at the point, you'll start seeing much better contact. Hooking the ball can be devastating, but I'd recommend first getting good contact and then start fixing the hook issue. 

image.png.dcf7cf79738eb9704ff91316e811622e.png

image.png.f20042c60b1952a8df9ea17455743b78.png

• 2 weeks later...
On 5/22/2019 at 1:05 PM, nicolcm said: