Jump to content
IGNORED

Phil Worsens His Lie


Recommended Posts

Not sure what tournament this was at, not even sure it happened this year. Phil was able to smooth out the bunker because he claimed it worsened his lie, not improved it. The rules official allowed it. 

I am just not sure if he was given a better lie, why change it back? Maybe it was a mental thing, like he didn't want less sand behind the ball? Wouldn't that improve his lie. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
12 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Not sure what tournament this was at, not even sure it happened this year. Phil was able to smooth out the bunker because he claimed it worsened his lie, not improved it. The rules official allowed it. 

I am just not sure if he was given a better lie, why change it back? Maybe it was a mental thing, like he didn't want less sand behind the ball? Wouldn't that improve his lie. 

14.2d(1) says that when replacing a ball that had been lifted from sand, the original lie MUST recreate the original lie as much as possible.  Raking away the footprint did just that.  I'm not sure that the pre-2019 rules had the same requirement.  

As for whether the raking made the lie better or worse, I think it made it more predictable.  I doubt that Phil practiced bunker shots with a footprint right behind the ball.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, DaveP043 said:

14.2d(1) says that when replacing a ball that had been lifted from sand, the original lie MUST recreate the original lie as much as possible.  Raking away the footprint did just that.  I'm not sure that the pre-2019 rules had the same requirement.  

I guess, what would be the area that defines a lie? Is it directly under the ball? If so, then I believe his lie was not disturbed since he was able to place it then asked for the official to confirm if he could rake the bunker. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
27 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Not sure what tournament this was at

Ummm, the PGA Championship.

image.png

image.png

@boogielicious wanted me to pass on "well, he is a civil engineer…". 😉

10 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I'm not sure that the pre-2019 rules had the same requirement.  

It was. See 20-3b: http://ruleshistory.com/rules2016.html.

  • Like 1
  • Funny 1
  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
13 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

I guess, what would be the area that defines a lie? Is it directly under the ball? If so, then I believe his lie was not disturbed since he was able to place it then asked for the official to confirm if he could rake the bunker. 

Remember P Reed being penalized for improving his lie at the Hero, in a sandy waste area?  He moved sand in the same area where Phil did the raking.  The difference, Phil was restoring the lie to its original condition as part of replacing his ball after marking and lifting it for the other player's shot.

4 minutes ago, iacas said:

Ummm, the PGA Championship.

@boogielicious". 😉

It was. See 20-3b: http://ruleshistory.com/rules2016.html.

Thanks.  And the rule applies to a ball in sand, whether in a bunker or not, so it certainly applied in Phil's case.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • The FO video helps. If I were you, I would: Do a lot days 1-5 from https://golfevolution.com/30-day-plan/. Add an avatar. Post in some other topics and get to know some of the people here. Post regularly here showing yourself doing the drills in a few minutes a day at home.
    • Looks better, but think about more weight shift forward on the downswing from the top to about A6. In your chip/punch drills, your weight is shifting forward. Try to get that same feel from A4 to A6. I’ve been doing this drill below since I went to Erie. Take it to the top, stop, shift weight forward so the left hip is over the ankle and let arms fall to A6. Then relax a bit (relaxed muscles are fast muscles) and draw back. Punch forward and stop at A9. For me the focus is getting the left hip to snap back faster. For you, it would be first to get the weight forward feel going.  
    • That’s still months away.
    • Guess he missed that basic bio class in college too. He’s a dangerous ass.
  • Today's Birthdays


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...