Jump to content
IGNORED

Intent to Hit Ball


jsgolfer
 Share

Recommended Posts

During our club championships final round last weekend.  Player A takes 2 practice swings, addresses the ball, starts his swing but on his down swing he tries to stop his swing.  In so doing, he still hits the ball and it dribbles forward.  

He says that he wasn’t intending to hit the ball, because he tried to stop his swing and therefore could re-tee and hit his shot again, with no penalty.  Our rules official agreed and he ends up winning by 1.  This occurred on the 33rd hole.

Now I remember the Kevin Na swing and then missing the ball and the rule was no swing.  Thoughts from any of our rules officials on here?  Seems like this was similar to the Kevin Na swing, except this golfer hit the ball forward.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...

The scenario and single response piqued my interest, but from what I could find it sounds like that is the right call!

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/articles/2019/04/golf-rules-hitting-ball-with-practice-swing-zach-johnson-masters.html

This was an interesting note:

However, prior to 2017 or if the Local Rule was not in effect, the player would have incurred a one-stroke penalty for accidentally moving their ball with a practice stroke on the putting green.

Edited by Caddysnack
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, Caddysnack said:

The scenario and single response piqued my interest, but from what I could find it sounds like that is the right call!

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/articles/2019/04/golf-rules-hitting-ball-with-practice-swing-zach-johnson-masters.html

This was an interesting note:

However, prior to 2017 or if the Local Rule was not in effect, the player would have incurred a one-stroke penalty for accidentally moving their ball with a practice stroke on the putting green.

That's a ball that's in play.

If the ball isn't in play (because you've not yet made a stroke at it in the teeing area), it wasn't a penalty in 2016, either.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Caddysnack said:

However, prior to 2017 or if the Local Rule was not in effect, the player would have incurred a one-stroke penalty for accidentally moving their ball with a practice stroke on the putting green.

I can't remember ever having seen this LR in force.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo after clicking this link. For Mevo+, click this link or the image above.
  • Posts

    • It's not that. It's very disjointed. Left hand a little strong, right hand weak.
    • I wish she would have mentioned if all those patients that showed up at her clinic were vaccinated or unvaccinated, or a combination of both.  Otherwise, reassuring.
    • Recorded some DTL swings after my round today. Need to figure out how to upload videos from the Live View Pro app on my tablet to youtube. I think the Live View Pro camera works great as a digital mirror, but video quality is pretty low on recorded swings, especially on downswing. I'll try to find the highest quality video and post it here. Will get FO view later this week, and may get DTL again using my iPhone.
    • What are the symptoms of the omicron variant? — Quartz The South African doctor who identified omicron describes the symptoms as "mild" in her patients.  
    • I know, you don’t like my index finger, correct?
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BW859
      BW859
      (41 years old)
    2. gg194
      gg194
      (76 years old)
    3. grantisadrummer
      grantisadrummer
      (29 years old)
    4. NuclearMike
      NuclearMike
      (66 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...