Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Wisco-Kid

Swing Plane with Driver Different?

16 posts in this topic

I know there are alot of threads about swing planes, inside-out, steep or flat etc. What I have been very confused about ever since I started playing golf is that my swing just doesn't translate when I use my driver.

I hit my irons great, good compression, high ball flight, with a slight fade. I have a fairly steep swing. When I go to hit my driver if I use the same swing plane I slice it. It is not a crazy slice but a slice.

My questions: Is the swing plane with the driver supposed to be alot flatter?
What would be a good tip on how to start the swing with a driver. Is it supposed to feel like I am swinging a baseball bat?

I am trying to match my swing plane up with the angle of the shaft on my
driver but I just cant seem to get the right feel.
It feels like I am missing something..Any suggestions are welcome.

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I think the driver is flatter simply because of the length of the shaft..I feel that you should release the club a little earlier with the longer clubs...best of luck

I think the driver is flatter simply because of the length of the shaft..I feel that you should release the club a little earlier with the longer clubs...best of luck

Wow, the first thing you've said that I can agree with.

The plane is flatter, indeed, because the shaft is longer. The modern 460cc driver is also, for some, a bit tougher to close. Check your grip and make sure your closing the clubface in time. The only other option would be that you are playing a pull-cut with your irons, which can often translate into a plain old slide with the driver because of the differences in how you hit them (irons: off the ground, hit down and through, etc.).

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Check your grip and make sure your closing the clubface in time.