IGNORED

Swing Plane with Driver Different?

Note: This thread is 5859 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I know there are alot of threads about swing planes, inside-out, steep or flat etc. What I have been very confused about ever since I started playing golf is that my swing just doesn't translate when I use my driver.

I hit my irons great, good compression, high ball flight, with a slight fade. I have a fairly steep swing. When I go to hit my driver if I use the same swing plane I slice it. It is not a crazy slice but a slice.

My questions: Is the swing plane with the driver supposed to be alot flatter?
What would be a good tip on how to start the swing with a driver. Is it supposed to feel like I am swinging a baseball bat?

I am trying to match my swing plane up with the angle of the shaft on my
driver but I just cant seem to get the right feel.
It feels like I am missing something..Any suggestions are welcome.
"When I play with him, he talks to me on every green. He turns to me and says, 'You're away.' "
-Jimmy Demaret referring to Ben Hogan

In The Bag:
Driver: Cleveland HiBore XL (10.5 -conforming)3 Wood: MacGregor V-FOIL5 Wood: Mizuno MP-001Irons: Ben Hogan BH-5 (4-PW)Wedges:52 - Nike SV Tour56 - Cleve...

I think the driver is flatter simply because of the length of the shaft..I feel that you should release the club a little earlier with the longer clubs...best of luck

"People think the size of the head is most important. Wrong. It's getting a quality shaft. test different shafts to see which goes the straightest. Also, more degrees of loft on the head is better than less. Eleven degrees is about right."

• Administrator
I think the driver is flatter simply because of the length of the shaft..I feel that you should release the club a little earlier with the longer clubs...best of luck