IGNORED

What Is Causing Such a High Rollout on My Irons?

Yesterday I was hitting balls with what felt like nice tempo and contact (for my handicap anyway), and I saw something which has been catching my attention for a couple of months. The following is a 6 iron shot that felt "flushed", with great contact:

draw.thumb.jpeg.26aae4501b04b00e560903a9a61ff786.jpeg

The key stats, translated and in metric and imperial for your reading convenience are:

Total: 182m (199y)
Carry: 163m (178y)
Height: 19m (20.7y)

I further have some average data on a series of ten shots with my 7 iron from about a week ago:

Total: 166m (181y)
Carry: 153m (167y)
Height: 22m (24y)

(Don't mind the gapping between my 6i and 7i... Yesterday I was hitting my 7i about 170m... I think my distances are all over the place week-to-week, because I'm a rookie)

My question is, what might be producing such low launch, high rollout numbers, and am I right that this is not conducive too good scoring opportunities with my mid-irons, and will need to be addressed sooner than later?

Some further context:

- Currently play to a 26 handicap, started playing 8 months ago
- My experience in the golf course, with good balls and under pressure, is the same: a well-struck 7 iron has trouble holding the green, forget about a 6i or 5i
- I game (second-hand) TaylorMade M3s (stock lofts are 7i: 30.5º, 6i: 26.5º) with Mitsubishi Tensei Blue graphite reg shafts (77g weight, 2.2 torque, "high" launch and spin)
- I play a draw, and consistently hit the ball from the inside (+3º to +8º on Trackman)
- Right now I struggle in fact coming too much from the inside, resulting in hooks and push slices from getting stuck
- Also related to the above, I also struggle "committing" to the shot or staying down on it, resulting in some thins