IGNORED

How to accurately measure distance that clubs go?

ctmurrray
Note: This thread is 5880 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a scientist and I would like to know exactly my average distance with each club, and the standard deviation (ideally a histogram of many shots with each club). I find driving ranges imprecise since there is rarely a target at each club length and thus I cannot get an accurate measure. On course measurements are subject to variables like wind and up or down hill fairways. Also you would take many rounds to accumulate enough data. I wonder if the electronic shot monitors in golf stores or golf training sites are accurate enough to get this data?

This would really allow me to evaluate the effect of new clubs, longer clubs, golf lessons.

Driver: 400 SZ
Irons: Maltby custom fit KE4's
Sandwedge: Maltby Slider
Others: random selection

I am a scientist and I would like to know exactly my average distance with each club, and the standard deviation (ideally a histogram of many shots with each club). I find driving ranges imprecise since there is rarely a target at each club length and thus I cannot get an accurate measure. On course measurements are subject to variables like wind and up or down hill fairways. Also you would take many rounds to accumulate enough data. I wonder if the electronic shot monitors in golf stores or golf training sites are accurate enough to get this data?

I'll make a confession - I'm a Myers-Briggs Analytical/Analytical, have a degree in Industrial Design and work as business process analyst.

Yuck. I play my worst when I try to make a science of this game.

Best, Mike Elzey

In my bag:
Driver: Cleveland Launcher 10.5 stiff