Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1029 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Today I played in a pennant match play event . On the 11th hole my opponent who was using a golf cart was joined by a person from his team   and did not inform me during the play of the hole that he was caddying for him. I think that he should lose that hole and any others he played before informing me that he was caddying for him. Am I correct as I can’t find it in the rule book.


Posted

Here's the definition of "caddie" according to the USGA.  

Caddie

Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:

  • Carrying, Transporting or Handling Clubs: A person who carries, transports (such as by cart or trolley) or handles a player’s clubs during play is the player’s caddie even if not named as a caddie by the player, except when done to move the player’s clubs, bag or cart out of the way or as a courtesy (such as getting a club the player left behind).

  • Giving Advice: A player’s caddie is the only person (other than a partner or partner’s caddie) a player may ask for advice.

A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).

It sounds to me that as soon as the other guy acted as a caaddie, he was a caddie, and no declaration of such is required.

 

 

  • Thumbs Up 1

  • Moderator
Posted
16 hours ago, Iceman2 said:

I can’t find it in the rule book.

As a general rule, if the rules don't say you are NOT allowed, then you ARE allowed.  The Rules don't specifically require a Player to inform his Opponent that he's added a caddie.  10.3a(1) does say:

"Whether or not the player has a caddie, any other person who walks or rides along with the player or who carries other things for the player (such as a rain-suit, umbrella or food and drink) is not the player’s caddie unless they are named as such by the player or also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs."

There seems to be a requirement for a player to "name" that other person as his Caddie, however, there's no penalty associated with NOT naming him.  You could claim that your Opponent asked for or received Advice from someone who was NOT his caddie, but you would have to make that appeal immediately.  Once you begin a new hole, its too late to make any claim for an infraction on a previous hole in Match Play.  The terminology is that you must "request a ruling".  If you did that, your Opponent would (logically) immediately name that person as his Caddie, so at most you might win 1 hole based on a timely request for a ruling.

 

  • Informative 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
3 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

As a general rule, if the rules don't say you are NOT allowed, then you ARE allowed.  The Rules don't specifically require a Player to inform his Opponent that he's added a caddie.  10.3a(1) does say:

"Whether or not the player has a caddie, any other person who walks or rides along with the player or who carries other things for the player (such as a rain-suit, umbrella or food and drink) is not the player’s caddie unless they are named as such by the player or also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs."

There seems to be a requirement for a player to "name" that other person as his Caddie, however, there's no penalty associated with NOT naming him.  You could claim that your Opponent asked for or received Advice from someone who was NOT his caddie, but you would have to make that appeal immediately.  Once you begin a new hole, its too late to make any claim for an infraction on a previous hole in Match Play.  The terminology is that you must "request a ruling".  If you did that, your Opponent would (logically) immediately name that person as his Caddie, so at most you might win 1 hole based on a timely request for a ruling.

 

It seems that the USGA could reconcile the Definition and the Rule!

A person who carries, transports (such as by cart or trolley) or handles a player’s clubs during play is the player’s caddie even if not named as a caddie by the player, except when done to move the player’s clubs, bag or cart out of the way or as a courtesy (such as getting a club the player left behind).

and:

Whether or not the player has a caddie, any other person who walks or rides along with the player or who carries other things for the player (such as a rain-suit, umbrella or food and drink) is not the player’s caddie unless they are named as such by the player or also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs.

don't line up very well, at least to me!

 


Posted
17 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

As a general rule, if the rules don't say you are NOT allowed, then you ARE allowed.  The Rules don't specifically require a Player to inform his Opponent that he's added a caddie.  10.3a(1) does say:

"Whether or not the player has a caddie, any other person who walks or rides along with the player or who carries other things for the player (such as a rain-suit, umbrella or food and drink) is not the player’s caddie unless they are named as such by the player or also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs."

There seems to be a requirement for a player to "name" that other person as his Caddie, however, there's no penalty associated with NOT naming him.  You could claim that your Opponent asked for or received Advice from someone who was NOT his caddie, but you would have to make that appeal immediately.  Once you begin a new hole, its too late to make any claim for an infraction on a previous hole in Match Play.  The terminology is that you must "request a ruling".  If you did that, your Opponent would (logically) immediately name that person as his Caddie, so at most you might win 1 hole based on a timely request for a ruling.

 

So “any other person … is not the player’s caddie unless they are”:

a. named as such by the player

—OR—

b. also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs.

So fulfilling (b) makes a person a caddie, even if (a) isn’t done by the player.

  • Thumbs Up 2

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
19 minutes ago, jlbos83 said:

It seems that the USGA could reconcile the Definition and the Rule!

A person who carries, transports (such as by cart or trolley) or handles a player’s clubs during play is the player’s caddie even if not named as a caddie by the player, except when done to move the player’s clubs, bag or cart out of the way or as a courtesy (such as getting a club the player left behind).

and:

Whether or not the player has a caddie, any other person who walks or rides along with the player or who carries other things for the player (such as a rain-suit, umbrella or food and drink) is not the player’s caddie unless they are named as such by the player or also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs.

don't line up very well, at least to me!

The bottom line, if there's no penalty, its not a problem if you do it.  Another situation, in stroke play you're not supposed to lift another player's ball without his direct permission.  But if you do, there's no penalty attached.  

Really, the way to attack his is through the rules about Advice.    If that person is not his caddie, the Player can't ask him for advice.   Apparently @Iceman2 never asked the question while they were playing.  The other part of this has to do with rules disputes in Match Play.  A Player can't complain about something at the end of the round, something he's seen happening, for 7 or 8 holes, and expect to have a General Penalty applied to each and every one of those holes.  

2 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

So “any other person … is not the player’s caddie unless they are”:

a. named as such by the player

—OR—

b. also carries, transports or handles the player’s clubs.

So fulfilling (b) makes a person a caddie, even if (a) isn’t done by the player.

As I read the OP, the Opponent was riding in a buggie (cart).  Simply riding with him wouldn't have automatically made the new guy the Caddie.  If I'm wrong, and the guy was using a trolley (push cart), and the new fellow started pushing the cart, he'd immediately become the Opponent's caddie.  And naming someone as a caddie brings its own risks.  If some random spectator moves your ball at rest, no big deal, just put it back.  If your caddie moves it, its a penalty.  There are some other things a caddie can do to earn the Player a penalty which don't apply to some buddy just following along.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Thanks to you all for all the advice. When the guy got into my opponent’s golf cart he told me he was the team captain and had arrived late. I assumed that he just wanted a ride because he “Tiny” was his nickname was close to 10 stone overweight. But as they sped off from me to my opponents next shots I could see that Tiny was giving advice. So if I had wanted to I could have claimed 2 holes but I didn’t bother. I won the match 2 and 1 but the incident was distracting at the time.

1 hour ago, dennyjones said:

  btw... @Iceman2 welcome to TST!   We're glad you've joined.   

Thanks so much Denny


  • Moderator
Posted
13 hours ago, Iceman2 said:

Thanks to you all for all the advice. When the guy got into my opponent’s golf cart he told me he was the team captain and had arrived late. I assumed that he just wanted a ride because he “Tiny” was his nickname was close to 10 stone overweight. But as they sped off from me to my opponents next shots I could see that Tiny was giving advice. So if I had wanted to I could have claimed 2 holes but I didn’t bother. I won the match 2 and 1 but the incident was distracting at the time.

I'm glad you won, congratulations.  I just want to mention one more thing, based on your last post.  In team events, the Committee may allow each team to designate an "advice giver".  That person is allowed to give advice during the round to any player on the team,  The Advice Giver may be the team captain, or some other person.  You may want to refer to Rule 24 to learn more.  I don't know if this was the case in your situation, but there's at least a chance it was legitimate.

But I'll go back, you can only "claim" one hole, you may only ask for a ruling on a hole you're currently playing (with a very few exceptions).  Once you've played a tee shot on the next hole, the preceding hole is decided if you haven't indicated your intent to seek a ruling.  Look at 20.1b(2) to understand the process in Match Play..   

  • Thumbs Up 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1029 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.