IGNORED

I'm a bunter with my driver - Tips?

Note:Β This thread is 5840 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

I'm not one of those neanderthals that thinks hitting the ball long off the tee is a must. I much prefer keep it controlled and in the fairway. But at times I can't believe how short I am with my driver. I pound the drive, absent any wind or downhill, 270 yards is deep. But most of my drives are carrying about 220-240'ish. Occassionally I will play a course from the tips and won't be able to reach the landing area.

My distance with other clubs is pretty solid. I am 150 with an 8 iron, 160 with 7 iron, 170 with 6 iron, 180 with 5 iron (and it is not unusual for me to get another 10 yards out of each of those clubs).

Like I said, I am not overly concerned with hitting long balls. But I would like to add a few more yards, specifically with the carry.

Any tips?
Maximus swing training aid?
Hip positions?
Larger shoulder turn?

What's in the bag
Driver: FTI
3W: 15 Degree
2H: X
4I-7I: X-188I, 9I, PW: X-Forged52 Deg: Vokey Oil Can, all rusted out56 Deg: Vokey, Chrome 60 Deg: Black PearlPutter: Catalina Two

Lesson...?

Lol, j/k.

Sorta. Seriously, since you're in the City, why don't you pop over to the west side this Friday or Saturday and check out Cheslsea Pier's Golf Fest ? You can grab not only a new club to try, but swing tips from pros at the same time. I suspect a pro who's actually watching you swing might have more helpful insights than most.

Bag It:

3-Wood Wishon 525 F/D, 13*, Matrix Studio 65gm, Golf Pride Dual Compound
Hybrid: Wishon "321", 24*, MSF 85 HB, Winn DSI
Irons: Wishon 770CFE, Matrix Studio 74gm, Winn DSI

Putter: Odyssey DFX 2-Ball

Bag: Some big, honkin', ridiculous overkill of an Ogio cart bag with more pockets than I have teeth.