Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

Recommended Posts

Posted

Heron Ridge in Virginia Beach yesterday, hole #7 for those in the area.  Would this box be considered an immovable obstruction with free relief?  (It was in my back swing as the hole was to the left of my ball in the picture.)  You can see that it sits just off the cart path.  How about all the mud and tire tracks?  When I addressed the ball my feet were sinking in wet mud so I took relief for standing water.  Right or wrong?  Thoughts?

ball.jpg


  • Administrator
Posted

Mud is not temporary water.

You would get relief from an immovable obstruction if it's in the area of lie, stance, or area of swing, assuming all are reasonable.

Highly unlikely that is an "integral part" of the course as defined by the Committee.

  • Like 1
  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

I'm with @iacas, relief from the Obstruction seems likely to be available.  As tor relief from Temporary Water, that only becomes available only when actual water is present, not just mud.  from the Definition of Temporary Water:

"It is not enough for the ground to be merely wet, muddy or soft or for the water to be momentarily visible as the player steps on the ground; an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after the stance is taken."

Relief from Temporary Water can get complicated, once you decide to take relief, you MUST find the nearest point of COMPLETE relief (NPCR).  The NPCR  from an Immoveable Obstruction is usually pretty close, but could be 10 or 20 or sometimes 50 yards away for Temporary Water. It could be into the tree line, or further from the hole.  My recommendation is to ALWAYS figure out where your NPCR will be before you decide to take relief and lift a ball in play.

Edit to add....If you realize that you do NOT want to play from the appropriate Relief area after lifting the ball to take relief, you MAY replace the ball, with one stroke penalty under Rule 9.4.  Or you MAY decide instead to directly take Unplayable Ball relief for two total penalty strokes.  So figure out what your best option is before you decide to lift the ball.

  • Informative 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 3/16/2025 at 10:10 AM, DaveP043 said:

Relief from Temporary Water can get complicated, once you decide to take relief, you MUST find the nearest point of COMPLETE relief (NPCR).  The NPCR  from an Immoveable Obstruction is usually pretty close, but could be 10 or 20 or sometimes 50 yards away for Temporary Water. It could be into the tree line, or further from the hole.  My recommendation is to ALWAYS figure out where your NPCR will be before you decide to take relief and lift a ball in play.

Good advice. 

When you see a golfer taking short steps, looking down at the ground, it's probably checking for temporary water. 

There are plenty of cases were just hitting it from the bad lie is better than where you would drop it. Like hitting of a cart path. 

 

  • Like 1

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
    • Day 136 12-26 Had a different practice planned today but life happened. Worked on "wide to wide" and still working on remaining flowy. Starting the club head in front of the ball as a drill, is helping with the flow of the swing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.