Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 6436 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
These are rules from the USGA rule book... see if you rule correct.

Situation

3a. In a match your caddy has dropped your bag just short of the green.
You go back 20 yds and skull your wedge shot which ends up wedged under the bag. Moving the bag will cause the ball to move.

3b. Same issue, but it's your opponents' caddy and oppenents' clubs.

You obviously need to move the bag, you mark the spot and remove the bag, the ball rolls.

Do you

1. Play it as it lies
2. Place it at the mark with a 1 stroke penalty
3. Redo the shot
4. drop the ball on the other side of the green (with penalty?)

Answer and Ruling here:

hints, 3a and 3b are different answers, and where the ball lies.

3a. rule 19.2
Answer is #4.. with a stroke penalty
If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by himself,
his partner or either of their caddies or equipment, the player
incurs a penalty of one stroke. The ball must be played as it lies,
except when it comes to rest in or on the player’s, his partner’s
or either of their caddies’ clothes or equipment, in which case the
ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped...

if the ball wasn't wedged in the equipment, you play it as it lies with a 1 stroke penalty.

3b. Rule 19.3
If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an
opponent, his caddie or his equipment, there is no penalty.
The player may, before another stroke is made by either side,
cancel the stroke and play a ball, without penalty, as nearly
as possible at the spot from which the original ball was
last played (see Rule 20-5) or he may play the ball as it lies.

so if the player wishes to play the shot he must follow rule 19.2 in the same manner, but without penalty.

When it says through the green, it means you must assume the ball rolled thru the green across to the other side.. you dont get to drop the ball on the front of the green, that would allow you to benefit from the deflection.. again assuming the ball ended up in the equipment.

G10 Driver
G10 4-wd
G15 7-wd
X-18 Proseries 3i-PW
X-Tour 52d gap wedge X-Tour 58d lob/sand wedge Dual-force Rossie II (mallet head) putter Pro-V1x only (baby!)Play at a private NJ g.c.


Posted

I gotta tell you this is not a great quiz and also not a very good explaination of the rule itself.

You gave the answer as #4
3a. rule 19.2

That is incorrect. Plus the shot penalty comes from hitting your equipment and has nothing to do with the ball moving when the equipment is moved. You did not give a correct answer for what happens. Plus if the ball was at rest under the equipment and moves while moving the equipment it would not be played as it lies. It is at rest and therefor would have to be moved back to its original position.

I don't mean to get on you but if you are going to post all these rules threads please for the benefit of the readers be clear and for gods sakes be correct.

Danny    In my :ping: Hoofer Tour golf bag on my :clicgear: 8.0 Cart

Driver:   :pxg: 0311 Gen 5  X-Stiff.                        Irons:  :callaway: 4-PW APEX TCB Irons 
3 Wood: :callaway: Mavrik SZ Rogue X-Stiff                            Nippon Pro Modus 130 X-Stiff
3 Hybrid: :callaway: Mavrik Pro KBS Tour Proto X   Wedges: :vokey:  50°, 54°, 60° 
Putter: :odyssey:  2-Ball Ten Arm Lock        Ball: :titleist: ProV 1

 

 

 

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

From your "spoiler"-

When it says through the green, it means you must assume the ball rolled thru the green across to the other side..

Um, no. That isn't what "through the green" means....Through the Green refers to the entire course, with the exceptions of the tee/green of the hole being played, and all hazards.

In My Bag:

Driver: Si3 380
3 & 4 Woods: Eye-o-matic Persimmons (yes...Persimmons)
Irons: 3-PW R7 TP S300Wedges: Karsten II 57* SW, Vokey 54.10 and 58.08 Spin Milled Oil CanPutter: White Hot SabertoothBall: Pro V1x"That's the easiest shot in golf....a short chip into the sand."


Posted
I gotta tell you this is not a great quiz and also not a very good explaination of the rule itself.

yes you are correct, whether the ball ended up in your equipment or not its still a penalty, the latter movement of the ball was secondary.

The rule I copied in should be quite clear, it';s from the handbook. I don't see how it's wrong if I copied it from the USGA rules. Maybe the situation was too complicated... simply you hit your equipment (penalty) or your opponents.

G10 Driver
G10 4-wd
G15 7-wd
X-18 Proseries 3i-PW
X-Tour 52d gap wedge X-Tour 58d lob/sand wedge Dual-force Rossie II (mallet head) putter Pro-V1x only (baby!)Play at a private NJ g.c.


Posted
Its not that the situation is too complicated, your interpretation is incorrect.
Driver: R7 425,  3-wood: V-Steel
3H Burner,  4-pw: R9 TP
SW: Vokey, 56-10
Putter: Cameron

Posted
i may have been incorrect about the bll moving when moving the bad out of the way. I was referring to the part of the rule where the ball becomes lodged in the equipment. I guess I could have said the ball rolled into the bag, but that seemed unlikely.

ignoring that, the ideas was to note what to penalize and/or where to drop if the players or opponents equipment interfered. that's the more likely (and simpler) situation.

G10 Driver
G10 4-wd
G15 7-wd
X-18 Proseries 3i-PW
X-Tour 52d gap wedge X-Tour 58d lob/sand wedge Dual-force Rossie II (mallet head) putter Pro-V1x only (baby!)Play at a private NJ g.c.


Posted
3a. 2 (Rule 19-2)

3b. 3 (Rule 19-3)

You don't seem to know what through the green means. See the definition in the Rules of Golf (hint: it has nothing to do with the putting green - the putting green is not even part of the area defined as through the green ). #4 is NOT the correct answer.

If the ball moves you replace it and incur a one stroke penalty for hitting your own equipment. If it hits your opponent's equipment (match play), then you have the option of replaying the stroke with no penalty. If it hits your fellow competitor's equipment (stroke play), then the ball is played as it lies, because the fellow competitor is an outside agency and Rule 19-1 applies. If the ball lies on or in the fellow competitor's equipment, it is treated as movable obstruction and you would proceed under Rule 24-1.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
good point, I had trouble finding what "thru the green meant". Can you post the definition for all, as it's not all that clear

G10 Driver
G10 4-wd
G15 7-wd
X-18 Proseries 3i-PW
X-Tour 52d gap wedge X-Tour 58d lob/sand wedge Dual-force Rossie II (mallet head) putter Pro-V1x only (baby!)Play at a private NJ g.c.


Posted
good point, I had trouble finding what "thru the green meant". Can you post the definition for all, as it's not all that clear

What I will do is post the link to the USGA Rules of Golf. It's an excellent resource, and when you have a rules question, it will help your understanding of the rules if you first try and find the answer for yourself. If you have any question on how to use the site or how to relate the rules and the decisions to each other, I'll be happy to help you out. Here's the link:

Rules of Golf Click on Section II - Definitions, then scroll down to "through the green". The first step in learning the Rules of Golf is to know the Definitions. A lot of Rules questions can be answered simply by knowing the terminology. If the meaning of through the green is still unclear, I'll be happy to explain further.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 6436 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.