IGNORED

There is hope to becoming a 300 yard hitter

Note: This thread is 5333 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I hit my first 300 yard drive yesterday. I've been golfing for about 5 years now and my goal is shoot mid-80's on average by the end of the year. I'm 40 years old.

Two years ago I was hitting 200 to 220 yards on average on my drives. I have fairly recently been able to average 240 to 250, although I've had a few around 270. I've really worked on not getting tense at the tee and allowing myself to relax and not try and crush the ball. I've also worked on getting more lower body into my swing. I've been much more of an arm swinger, but I've been understanding the swing better and realizing you must a get a full shoulder turn in (back facing the target), it naturally gets more of my lower body into the swing.

I'm writing this post because every now and then I see posts of "you are what you are" in regards to distance, or "it's genetics". Well, I don't subscribe to that at all.

When will I hit my next 300 yard drive? I don't know, but I know I have it in me.

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

How did you measure it?

A quote from Kris
...is that college bball really isn't "lower tier". The better teams have their rosters filled with guys who could play in the NBA. hell, guys used to come straight from high school to the NBA. I really don't think there's much of a difference skill-wise between the two.

The hole was 347 yards from the white's, tee box 15 yards up from the marker, I was 10 to 15 yards off the green after the drive. I realize I'm not giving you dead accurate numbers but that's about the right estimate. I'd love to tell you I had a GPS going, but application I have on my phone did not have that course on it.

It was long..... for me at least.